Latin America - Regional Cooperation - funding

Latin America - Regional Cooperation - funding

Regional Cooperation programmes are open to all Latin American countries under the Development Cooperation Instrument (DCI). They strengthen relations with the EU by exchanging experiences and creating networks at the same time as forging links between countries within the region as well as promoting sub-regional integration.

The EU cooperation with Latin America contributes to the region's efforts to reduce poverty and enhance populations' sustainable and inclusive growth in a context of respect for human rights, the rule of law, democracy and other key elements of good governance. It is in line with the principles set out in the European Consensus for Development, the Development Cooperation Instrument (DCI) regulation and the EU's Agenda for Change.

The Multiannual Indicative programme for 2014-2020

The recent Multiannual indicative programme for Latin America is established in accordance with the DCI Regulation for 2014-2020.

The overall allocation for the 2014-2020 Regional Programme for Latin America amounts to 925 million.

It comprises two components:

805 million for Component 1: the Continental Programme, focusing on:

  • Security - development nexus: Reinforcing the capacity of states to effectively ensure security conditions conducive for inclusive development. (70 million)
  • Good governance, accountability and social equity: Reinforcing the accountability and capacity of institutions and public administrations to provide high quality public services. (42 Million)
  • Inclusive and sustainable growth for human development: Poverty reduction through more inclusive and sustainable economic growth in Latin America. (215 million)
  • Environmental Sustainability and Climate Change: Reducing poverty of most vulnerable populations by fostering environmentally sustainable development and improving the capacity to cope with climate change and disasters. (300 million)
  • Higher education: Promoting higher education exchanges and cooperation between the EU and Latin America. (163 million) (under the Erasmus+ programme for 2014-2020)
  • Support measures (15million)

120 million for Component 2: Sub-Regional Programme for Central America, focusing on:

  • Regional economic integration: Contributing to sustainable and inclusive growth in Central America through an improved regional economic integration. (40 million)
  • Security and rule of law: Contributing to the reduction of violent crime and impunity, whilst respecting human rights and promoting a culture of peace. (40 million)
  • Climate change and disaster management: Contribute to building more resilient and sustainable societies through a better preparation of the region to address climate change. (35 million)
  • Support measures (5 million)


In accordance with the DCI Regulation, the Latin American eligible countries for Component 1 are:

  • Argentina, Bolivia, Brasil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Ecuador, El Salvador,

    Guatemala, Honduras, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Uruguay and


Eligible Latin American countries for Component 2 are:

  • Costa Rica, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Nicaragua and Panama.


The Annual Action Programme 2014 (AAP-2014) of the Continental Programme comprises three actions: 


Some background elements:

EU Regional programmes for Latin America (LA) were first launched in the early 1990s. At that time, they were largely in the fields of Higher Education, support to Small and Medium-sized Enterprises (SMEs) and Local Urban development.
Other programmes were drawn up at the beginning of the 2000s to respond to new challenges. A few of the programmes meet the priorities set by the bi-annual EU and Latin America and Caribbean (LAC) summits. Endorsed by governments of both EU and Latin American countries, regional cooperation initiatives translated political priorities of the EU-LAC partnership into concrete actions.

Priorities for the 2007-2013 EU-LA regional cooperation were:

  • Social cohesion (EUROsociAL, Urb-AL, Al-Invest)
  • Sustainable development, including climate change (EURO-SOLAR, EUROCLIMA, RALCEA, FLEGT South America)
  • Promotion of higher education and research (ALFA, Erasmus Mundus (action2))

Overall, the EU financial contribution to Regional (continental) programmes in 2007-2013 amounted to 556 million.

EU-Latin America regional cooperation programmes:

  • EUROsocial II: contributing to improved social cohesion
  • AL-INVEST IV: improving the ability of Latin American SMEs to penetrate global markets
  • LAIF: a blending machanism enabling the funding of infrastructure in sectors like energy, including renewable energies, transport, environment.
  • ALFA III: promoting cooperation in higher education
  • Erasmus Mundus (action 2) Latin America: providing academic mobility
  • Urb-AL III: strengthening local public policies in LA and urban policy coordination
  • EURO-SOLAR: promoting the use of renewable energy and Internet connectivity
  • EUROCLIMA: enabling EU-LA cooperation on climate-change-related problems
  • RALCEA: supporting the setting up of a network of knowledge centres in the water sector
  • WATERCLIMA: River basins and coastal management in the context of climate change.
  • FLEGT South America: fostering forest law enforcement, governance and trade
  • @LIS II: facilitating the integration of Latin American countries into the global information society
  • COPOLAD: improving coherence, balance and impact of anti-drugs policies
  • EU-CELAC project on Migration: strengthening dialogue and cooperation on  migration issues.

Additional information: