Southern Africa

Southern Africa


  • Social support for resilience in Malawi

    Through SoSuRe (Social Support for Resilience), the EU is engaged in reducing poverty and enhancing resilience among the most vulnerable households in Malawi. SoSuRe provides funding for social cash transfers targeting ultrapoor households with very...
  • Skills and Technical Education Programme (STEP)

    Lilongwe Technical College gets new equipment

    STEP seeks to empower the Technical and Vocational Education and Training (TVET) sector in Malawi and develop its capacity to meet the economy's need for skilled professionals.

Trade and regional integration are the main areas of EU support to the region along with regional political cooperation and capacity building for the Secretariat of the Southern African Development Community (SADC). SADC member states are: Angola, Botswana, Democratic Republic of the Congo, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Tanzania, Zambia and Zimbabwe.

Strong capacity development support from the EU to the SADC Secretariat – SADC’s administrative body – enabled reform of the management of funds. SADC, as COMESA, is now in a position to administer funds from donors with its own procedures. Six EU projects for SADC for a total sum of €56 million – supporting regional integration and continued capacity development – were approved in 2012, and one more project for 32 million (Trade Related Facility) has been approved in 2013 leading to a full commitment of the €116 million earmarked for the region under the 10th EDF, the EU’s funding instrument for African, Caribbean and Pacific (ACP) countries and Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs), 2008-13. The programme is implemented by SADC in cooperation with the EU Delegation to Botswana and SADC.

Regional cooperation with Eastern Africa, Southern Africa and the Indian Ocean

The Eastern Africa, Southern Africa and the Indian Ocean (EA-SA-IO) regioncomprise African countries with very diverse political and socioeconomic backgrounds. These countries are members of one or more of the following five Regional Organisations: COMESA, EAC, IGAD, IOC and SADC.

  1. COMESA (Common Market for Eastern and Southern Africa) has 19 member states: Burundi, Comoros, the Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC), Djibouti, Egypt, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Kenya, Libya, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Rwanda, Seychelles, Sudan, Swaziland, Uganda, Zambia and Zimbabwe. Its main focus is on the formation of a large economic and trading unit capable of overcoming the barriers faced by individual states in the sub-region.
  2. EAC (East African Community) has five member states: Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Uganda and Tanzania. It has a clear regional integration mandate aiming at achieving a monetary union and eventually political integration.
  3. IGAD (Intergovernmental Authority on Development) covers the eight countries of the Greater Horn of Africa: Djibouti, Eritrea (suspended since 2007), Ethiopia, Somalia, Kenya, Uganda, South Sudan and Sudan. Its core mandate is built on four strategic pillars: agriculture, natural resources and environment; economic cooperation, integration and social development; peace security and humanitarian affairs; and corporate development services.
  4. IOC (Indian Ocean Commission) is an organisation that groups together five island states: Comoros, Madagascar, Mauritius, Réunion (France) and Seychelles. Its main focus is to strengthen the relationship and solidarity of the Indian Ocean islands for sustainable development and enhanced regional cooperation.
  5. SADC (Southern African Development Community) comprises 15 member states: Angola, Botswana, DRC, Lesotho, Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia, Tanzania, Seychelles, South Africa, Swaziland, Zambia and Zimbabwe. The overall goal of SADC is to promote and achieve equitable and sustainable development to be attained through increased regional integration.

Cooperation at regional level supports these organisations and their development policies and also addresses cross-regional issues on the basis of three thematic priorities: peace and security, regional economic integration and regional management of natural resources. A strong emphasis is also put on supporting the development of regional infrastructure for road transport, sustainable energy, information and communications technology and water

Regional Indicative Programme for Eastern Africa, Southern Africa and the Indian Ocean (2014 – 2020)