EU & Millennium Development Goals

EU & Millennium Development Goals

The EU is the leading global donor and as such contributed towards the UN's 8 Millennium Development Goals (MDGs) to be achieved by 2015. The EU has been committed to the MDGs since their adoption in 2000 and has progressively adapted its development policy to help achieve them.

The Millennium Declaration and MDGs expired at the end of 2015.

They have made an enormous contribution in raising public awareness, increasing political will and mobilising resources to end poverty.

Some of the greatest progress in recent years has been made in areas targeted by the MDGs.

  • Extreme poverty was halved five years ahead of the 2015 deadline
  • 90 percent of children in developing regions are enrolled in primary school, and school enrolment disparities between boys and girls have narrowed.
  • the number without access to drinking water has been halved

  • malaria deaths and HIV infection rates are down, with anti-retroviral drugs for HIV/AIDS much more widely available.

The Millennium Development Goals Contract

This is a longer-term, more predictable form of general budget support, focusing on MDG-related results, with the following features:

6-year commitment of funds for the full term of EDF 10
disbursal of at least 70% of the total commitment (provided there is no major breach of eligibility conditions or implementation)
performance-related component of up to 30%.

Countries with MDG Contracts

8 countries hold an MDG Contract, accounting for about half (€1.8bn) of all general budget support commitments in EDF 10 national programmes: Burkina Faso, Ghana, Mali, Mozambique, Rwanda, Tanzania, Uganda and Zambia.


More detailed information on the EU's contribution to the MDGs is available in the MDG Brochure 2015

The 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development will build on these successes.