Central Africa

Central Africa


The Regional Indicative Programme (RIP) for the Central African Region is a programme funded by the European Union under the European Development Fund (EDF), the overall aim of which is to support political and economic integration in the region with a view to reducing poverty.

The Regional Indicative Programme 2014-2020 for Central Africa was adopted in June 2015. Through this programme the EU will make €350 million available to the region.

The programme is focusing on three areas of cooperation:

  • Political integration and cooperation in peace and security matters;
  • Economic integration and trade (including infrastructures);
  • Sustainable management of natural resources and biodiversity.

The regional counterparts responsible for implementation are the Economic and Monetary Community of Central Africa (CEMAC) – Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, and the Republic of the Congo – and the Economic Community of Central African States (ECCAS) – Angola, Burundi, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Chad, Congo, the Democratic Republic of the Congo, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rwanda and São Tomé & Principe.

The Central African region also benefits from support under thematic programmes such as the Global Public Goods and Challenges and supra-regional cooperation under the Intra-ACP programme and there are also national country programmes addressing national challenges.