Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs)

Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs)

The OCTs are 25 countries and territories, which have special links with either Member States: Denmark, France, the Netherlands and the United Kingdom.

The relation between the EU and the OCTs is based on EU law, not on the constitutional law of the Member State. For instance, Saint-Pierre et Miquelon was previously an overseas department under French constitutional law, but has always been considered an OCT under EU law (and not an outermost region). Their nationals are in principle EU citizens.


Reference service within the European Commission

Within the European Commission and Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development  EuropeAid, the Task Force OCT coordinates all activities in the sphere of EU/OCT relations. It also has the primary responsibility of implementing the legislative and regulatory framework established in accordance with the Treaty provisions dedicated to OCTs.

The role of the Task Force OCT is to lead on the definition and the updating of the association of the OCTs with the EU. It also leads and coordinates the programming of European aid for all OCTs and plans, coordinates and supervises the Directorate-General’s activities and reports on the relations of the EU with the OCTs.

The Task Force OCT organises and chairs partnership meetings between the Commission’s services, the OCTs and the four Member States to which they are linked (annual OCT-EU Forum, tripartite meetings and partnership working parties) and chairs the Commission Inter-Service group on OCTs.

News & Events

  • 15th OCT-EU Forum

    2 March 2017

    The Forum, organised under the aegis of Neven Mimica, European Commissioner for International Cooperation...

  • 14th OCT-EU Forum, 26 February 2016

    4 March 2016

    The 14th Overseas Countries and Territories (OCTs) - EU Forum took place on 26 February 2016 in Brussels,...