EU and ASEAN discuss road transport and safety policies

EU and ASEAN discuss road transport and safety policies


The EU-ASEAN Road Transport workshop on Road Safety took place in Brussels from 30 January to 1 February 2019, hosted by the European Commission Directorate General for Mobility and Transport (DG MOVE) and Directorate General for International Cooperation and Development (DG DEVCO). The workshop was the first meeting organised between the EU and ASEAN, intended to reach a better understanding of each region’s specific policies and strategies in the road transport sector, as well as tackle key challenges for road safety.

The workshop on road safety brought together European Commission, EU Member States’ transport policy experts and ASEAN transport officials from policy and technical levels, enabling them to have a fruitful exchange on road transport policies and road safety strategies and regulations. The workshop offered possibilities for sharing lessons and good practices, a wider expert network development and further cooperation initiatives.

Discussions were accompanied by a presentation of the preliminary results of an ongoing study, supported by the EU, on ASEAN road safety performance. The study highlighted some of the challenges on road safety experienced by countries in Southeast Asia, as well as possible measures to be taken by ASEAN. The participants also took part in a technical visit to the Vias Institute, a major road safety knowledge centre in Belgium, where ASEAN representatives explored innovative approaches on road safety research.

The workshop was an important opportunity for engaging both EU and ASEAN representatives on a topic where both sides can learn from each other’s experiences in regional integration.


The 1st EU-ASEAN Workshop on Road Safety was supported by the Enhanced Regional EU-ASEAN Dialogue Instrument (E-READI), a development cooperation programme that facilitates cooperation between the EU and ASEAN in priority policy areas of joint interest. Drawing on the long history of EU regional integration experience, the E-READI policy dialogue facility further strengthens both the ASEAN regional integration as well as the overall ASEAN-EU partnership.


The Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) was established on 8 August 1967. The Member States of the Association are Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Lao PDR, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and Viet Nam. On 31 December 2015, the ASEAN Community was formally established. The ASEAN Secretariat is based in Jakarta.

For more information, please contact:

EU Mission to ASEAN, Programme Manager, Ina Hodge

E-READI, Communication & Outreach Expert, Denada Stottele