How can I apply?

Fill in the application form. You also need to upload your news (text or audio-visual file) as well as a translation of the work in English, Spanish or French if the original is not in one of these languages. See the Rules section for detailed information.


By clicking on the registration button, you will be redirected to the website of a third party service called Jotform, which has its own cookie and privacy policies over which the Directorate-General for International Cooperation and Development has no control. If you do not wish to continue on Jotfrom, please be informed that you can send you application to info@nataliprize.eu.


If you decide to submit your application by e–mail, please email info@nataliprize.eu with:

  1. Your work
  2. The information that should be provided in the online form
  3. The following declaration to authorise the processing of your personal data:

‘I hereby give my consent to the processing of my personal data for the purposes of the organisation of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2019 as described in the specific privacy statement available on the EuropeAid website which I have read and understood. I can freely withdraw my consent at any time by contacting the data controller. In that case, all processing operations that were based on my consent and took place before the withdrawal of consent remain valid’.

Without all this information, we will not be able to process your personal data and your application.


Where must my work have been published or broadcasted?

The entry needs to have been published (print or online) or broadcasted (radio or television) in a newspaper, magazine, news site, TV or radio that publishes regularly, between 10 March 2018 and 9 March 2019.

If you have any questions on whether your piece qualifies for this prize, please contact the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize Secretariat at info@nataliprize.eu.

What is the theme of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize?

The overarching theme of the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize is journalism for development.

What are the categories?
  1. Grand Prize: open to journalists whose media headquarter is located in one of the more than 160 partner countries* with which the European Union engages on development and cooperation.
  2. Europe Prize: open to journalists whose media headquarter is located in one of the countries of the European Union.
  3. Best Emerging Journalist Prize: open to journalists under 30 whose media is headquartered  in any country where DG DEVCO and DG NEAR provide development assistance, as well as in the EU Member States.

* Full list of countries can be found here.

What are the countries eligible for the Prize?

The applicants will need to choose one of these categories when filling in the application form.

Geographic eligibility is based on the headquarters’ location of the media outlet where the work was published. The media outlet must be headquartered in eligible countries. Full list of countries can be found here.


No. Applicants can apply with only one piece of reporting for one category. Submitting more than one piece of reporting or in more than one category will automatically discard your application.


Are all languages accepted?

Entries are accepted in all languages. However, a translation in English, French or Spanish is required for the entries which have not originally been published in one of these languages. The entries will be evaluated on the basis of translated texts provided in one these three languages. 

What are the main criteria for selection?

Submissions will be screened on the relevance to the development theme, reporting rigour, writing and added value. See the Rules for more details.

When is the deadline?

The deadline for submitting entries is 14 April 2019 23:59 CET.

Who is on the jury for the Lorenzo Natali Media Prize 2019?

The Jury is independent from the European Commission and made up of renowned figures from the fields of journalism and development.

The project was a result of collaboration between several partners. Who should apply?

You can submit an application and add the associated participants as co-authors. However, the entire application will be considered as one entry. If awarded, only one person will be invited to come to the Award Ceremony in Brussels in June.