Wallis and Futuna Islands

Wallis and Futuna Islands

Wallis and Futuna Islands

The archipelago of Wallis and Futuna is a French Overseas Territory located in the Southern Pacific. It has three main islands: Wallis, Futuna and Alofi. The capital is Mata-Utu, on the island of Wallis. The total area is 142 km² and the population stands at 13,445. The economy has remained traditional and low-monetised with a Gross Domestic Product (GDP) that is essentially non-commercial.

The EU financial assistance of a total amount 16.49 million euros under the 10th European Development Fund (EDF) will be implemented in the form of a project-based approach. These funds will go towards rehabilitating Leava’s port infrastructure on the island of Futuna, and towards reinforcing the archipelago’s administrative and institutional capabilities. This latter objective should help Wallis & Futuna to elaborate public policies favouring a new model of economic and social development.

Following on from cyclone Thomas in 2010, Wallis & Futuna was also granted €1,076,000 from the B envelope for emergency funds. This went towards rebuilding 5 schools and bringing them up to modern anti-cyclone standards. In 2013, following the cyclone Evan, Wallis and Futuna was granted 1.62 million euros to ensure the rehabilitation of the electrical supply system in the island of Wallis.

Under Technical Cooperation Facility (TCF II), Wallis & Futuna is benefiting from €92,812. This has been granted in order to undertake an economic study of port infrastructure, as part of the Single Programming Document for the territorial allocation.

Through the regional envelope of the 10th EDF, the EU is funding a €12 million regional initiative (INTEGRE) which aims to mitigate the impacts of climate change.

Wallis & Futuna is also involved in a number of programmes that either receive or have received funding from the general budget. These include PACE-Net, which aims to reinforce Pacific-EU dialogue on science and technology, and ENRTP, a programme on the environment and on the sustainable management of natural resources.

Under the 11th EDF, Wallis and Futuna has been granted an indicative amount of €19.6 million for the period 2014-2020.