Turks and Caicos

Turks and Caicos

Turks and Caicos

A British Overseas Territory, the Turks and Caicos Islands consist of around 40 islets and cays, with a total area of 430 km² and a population of 38,435.Prior to the start of the economic crisis, Turks and Caicos underwent rapid economic development built on tourism, mainly concentrated on the island of Providenciales. The territory is located north of Haiti and the Dominican Republic. Cockburn Town – located on Grand Turk – is the territory's capital.


Cooperation 2014-2020

Under the 11th EDF, Turks and Caicos has been granted an indicative amount of €14.6 million for the period 2014-2020. Along with the EU, the Government is in the process of determining which sectors should be chosen for cooperation.

Cooperation 2008-2013

The 10th European Development Fund (EDF) is supporting infrastructure and macro-economic reforms and post-disaster rehabilitation via an allocation of €11.85 million.

The Turks and Caicos Islands are also receiving €4.3 million from the B-envelope in order to rebuild housing that was destroyed during the passage of Tropical Storm Hanna and Hurricane Ike.

At the same time, the Turks and Caicos is a beneficiary of the EDF-OCT Caribbean regional envelope of €40 million, which will focus on developing sustainable energy and marine biodiversity in the Caribbean. Turks and Caicos is also one of the beneficiaries of a €15 million programme under the 10th EDF regional envelope for the Caribbean OCTs which focuses on stimulating the growth of Small and Medium Enterprises (SMEs). The programme is enhancing economic competitiveness and lessening social, economic and environmental vulnerabilities.