Free movement

Information on the transitional rules governing the free movement of workers from, to and between the new member states

European Commission:

In the Member Countries of the European Economic Area (EEA) 1 the free movement of workers is a fundamental right which permits nationals of one EEA country to work in another EEA country on the same conditions as that member state’s own citizens.

During a transitional period of up to 7 years after the accession of Croatia on 1 July 2013, certain conditions may be applied that restrict the free movement of workers from and to Croatia

These restrictions only concern the freedom of movement for the purpose of taking up a job and they may differ from one member state to another.

By selecting a country in the list below you will find out which rules apply in that country to job seekers from other member states.