Living and working conditions

Print this page


Moving to another country

Registration procedures and residence permits


Since 1 June 2016, the nationals of all EU-27/EFTA states, i.e. the nationals of EU-25/EFTA (EU17/EFTA plus EU-8) and the nationals of Bulgaria and Romania (EU-2), have been subject to the same conditions.

The Federal Council activated the safeguard clause in respect of Bulgarian and Romanian nationals with effect from 1 June 2017. As part of this safeguard clause, the quota system for category B EU/EFTA residence permits was reintroduced for 1 year. This measure applies to nationals from the EU-2 who possess an employment contract in Switzerland that is valid for more than 1 year (or has unlimited duration) or who establish themselves in Switzerland as self-employed persons. On 18 April 2018, the Federal Council decided to extend the safeguard clause to 31 May 2019.

Since 1 January 2017, Croatian nationals have also benefited from free movement. However, they are subject to transitional provisions.

You will find the documents relevant to your stay, according to nationality, at the following link: 


Text last edited on: 05/2019

Are you satisfied with the information provided on this page?

Need help?  
Need help?