Navigation path

High level navigation

Page navigation

The Natura 2000 Biogeographical Regions

The Natura 2000 network provides a haven for plants, animals and birds. But the European Union spans many different regions, so the issues and problems affecting habitats and species often vary due to regional factors such as climate, landscape or soil conditions. By working together at regional level, Member States can better protect species and habitat types under similar natural conditions across borders.

In practice

The Natura 2000 Biogeographical Process was launched in 2011. It stems from the Biodiversity Strategy to 2020 and aims to help Member States and key stakeholders manage Natura 2000 as a coherent network.

Within a biogeographical region, solutions can be tailored to suit specific habitats and Member States can focus on practical habitat management issues identified as a common priority within a region. They can take stock of the conservation status of specific priority habitats at a certain time and determine together what needs to be done to improve, maintain or restore the condition of Natura 2000 sites.

They can take specific joint actions better suited to restore or maintain the health of the typical habitats found on their territory. They can also share experience, build knowledge and choose together the priority actions required for particular habitat types. By networking and sharing their experience of management, they can find the most effective ways to achieve more for habitats and species of Community importance.

For each region, you can find out more about its characteristic features, its habitats and species of Community importance or access maps and the official lists of Sites of Community Importance (SCIs).

Alpine Boreal Mediterranean
Atlantic Continental Pannonian
Black Sea Macaronesian Steppic

For more information

Right navigation