Navigation path

Additional tools

  • Print version
  • Decrease text
  • Increase text

Welcome to the Natura 2000 Award!

Get the recognition
you deserve!

Welcome to the Natura 2000 Award!

The European Commission invites you to learn more about Natura 2000 and to take part in the 2020 European Natura 2000 Award.

The European Commission is proud to present the finalists for the 2020 European Natura 2000 Award! You can find information about the 27 finalists, as well as details on how to vote for your favourite, below.

What is the European Natura 2000 Award?

The Natura 2000 Award is designed to reward excellence in the management of Natura 2000 sites and showcase the added value of the network for local economies. It pays tribute to all those who work tirelessly to make Natura 2000 a success whilst drawing public attention to its substantial achievements.

The Natura 2000 network works to ensure the long-term survival of Europe's most valuable and threatened species and habitats, and is the centre piece of the EU's nature and biodiversity policy. It is currently made up of over 27,800 sites. In total, it covers almost a fifth of Europe’s land area and almost 10% of the EU marine areas, making it the largest coordinated network of conservation areas anywhere in the world.

Yet, despite its scale and the wealth of benefits it provides, many Europeans have still not heard of Natura 2000. This is why, in 2014, the European Commission launched the annual European Natura 2000 Award. The aim of the award is to demonstrate what the network is, what it does to preserve Europe’s biodiversity, and how it benefits us all.

How does the Natura 2000 Award work?

Any organisation or individual can apply for an Award, so long as their work is directly linked to one or more Natura 2000 sites. More information on the application process

All eligible applications are assessed by an independent team of evaluators, resulting in a list of finalists (see more information about the evaluation process).  A high-level Jury will decide on five winners, one for each of the categories. From the finalists, the public will also choose their winner: the Citizens’ Award. In the 2018 Award, over 50,000 citizens voted!

All finalists are invited to the Award Ceremony in Brussels and the six winners will receive a trophy and a small financial prize.  Winners will also receive financial support to organise a promotional event in their country to promote their win and to raise awareness about their achievements on a local and national level.

Who has already won a European Natura 2000 Award?

The first four editions of the Natura 2000 Award have highlighted the astonishing array of initiatives on and dedication to Natura 2000 management and promotion taking place right across Europe.

Visit the winning sites from 2018, 2016, 2015 and 2014 and find out more about their impressive achievements.

The Benchmarking reports from previous Award editions also include important tips for potential applicants as well as Natura 2000 site managers in general.

The key dates of the 2020 European Natura 2000 Award are shown below:  

Launch of call for applications

21 May 2019

Deadline for applications

15 October 2019

Evaluation process

October 2019 – February 2020

Public vote open

2 June - 15 September 2020

European Natura 2000 Award Ceremony

To be confirmed - sign up to the Award Newsletter to be kept informed when registrations open