Navigation path

Additional tools

  • Print version
  • Decrease text
  • Increase text

2016 edition

Keep up to date with all the information concerning 2016 edition of the Natura 2000 Award.

The 2016 edition of the Natura 2000 Award is underway and promises to be every bit as exciting and inspirational as the previous two editions.  From this page you can access all important information concerning the 2016 Awards as it happens: the applications, the finalists and of course the six winners. You can also find out more about the people behind the selection - the evaluators and the jury - as well as how to participate in the exciting Award Ceremony.

What's new?

Applications can be submitted from 7 October until 1 December 2015, earlier than in previous years.  Applicants can draw on the experiences summarised in the Benchmarking Reports from the two previous editions (2014, 2015) for inspiration in bringing out the outstanding aspects of their work.  
Previous applicants can also retrieve their 2015 application form and use this as a basis for their 2016 application - updating and improving along the way of course (see more details here).

What's just as good as last year?

The inspiration from so many great achievements in Natura 2000 sites and the dedication of people, organisations and institutions across the EU, the excitement of the Ceremony, and the satisfaction of supporting this immensely important protected area network - the backbone of the conservation and sustainable use of European nature!