Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by C. Spahrbier

The call for applications for the European Green Capital Award 2020 and the European Green Leaf Award 2019 is now closed!

Entry for the European Green Capital Award (EGCA) 2020 and the European Green Leaf Award (EGLA) 2019 is now closed! The Awards aim to reward the efforts of cities who strive to improve the lives of their citizens, become role models and commit to environmental, social and economic sustainability. Cities across Europe with over 100,000 inhabitants are vying to be the 2020 European Green Capital Award winner. The European Green Leaf Award, now in its fourth year, is open to cities and towns with a population of 20,000 and up to 100,000 inhabitants.

For the first time, in order to celebrate ten years of the European Green Capital initiative, the European Commission will award a financial incentive of €350,000 to the winning city of the 2020 European Green Capital title and €75,000 to the winner of the 2019 European Green Leaf Award. [1]

Next steps

Valid applications for both competitions will be evaluated by an independent panel of experts to determine a shortlist of cities to go forward to the next stage of the competition. EGCA applications are evaluated on the basis of 12 environmental indicators, with EGLA applications being assessed based on six topic areas. The Expert Panel evaluations for shortlisted applicant cities are synopsised in the Technical Assessment Reports. To view previous EGCA reports click here, and for EGLA reports, click here.

The finalists will then present to a Jury of representatives from the environmental sector in May/June 2018, when they must demonstrate their commitment to driving sustainability and their capacity to act as a role model to other cities and towns.

Keep up to date with the competition news on this website to see who makes the shortlist in April 2018 and find out which cities will make it to the final! Good luck to all the applicants!

European Green Capital Award Winners

Essen, the current European Green Capital, has been keeping us busy with its programme of events for 2017. You can visit the official Essen European Green Capital 2017 website to see what the city has in store for the rest of the year!

You can also hear from Dominique Ellen van de Pol, Nils Mosh and Teresa Deckert, three Esseners who have written a City Diary, giving us insight into life in their European Green Capital.

Essen was the eighth city to win the prestigious European Green Capital Award, preceded by Ljubljana in Slovenia (2016), Bristol in the UK (2015), Copenhagen in Denmark (2014), Nantes in France (2013), Vitoria-Gasteiz in Spain (2012), Hamburg in Germany (2011) and Stockholm in Sweden, the very first city to win the Award in 2010.

With Nijmegen (Netherlands) taking the baton from Essen in 2018, and Oslo (Norway) holding the title for 2019, we have a lot to look forward to!


European Green Leaf Award Winners

Galway in Ireland, European Green Leaf 2017, is the third city to hold the title, with Mollet del Vallès in Spain and Torres Vedras in Portugal both winning the inaugural Award in 2015.

Leuven in Belgium and Växjö in Sweden, both winning the 2018 Award, are the next cities in the spotlight.

[1] Subject to the approval of the EU 2018 Budget and approval by the College of the 2018 Financing Decision for the EU LIFE Programme