Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by M.Štojs

The search is on to find the next European Green Capital 2022 & European Green Leaf 2021!

Does your city have what it takes to be the next European Green Capital or European Green Leaf Award winner? Today, the European Commission has launched both competitions and the search is now on to find the 2022 European Green Capital and 2021 European Green Leaf Award winning cities.

The European Green Capital Award (EGCA), now in its 13th year, is awarded annually to a European city with over 100,000 inhabitants that has shown itself to be a leader in environmental, social and economic sustainability. The winner of the 2022 Award will receive €350,000[1] to kick-start its year as a European Green Capital.

The European Green Leaf Award (EGLA) is open to towns and cities with between 20,000 and up to 100,000 inhabitants, to recognise and promote their efforts towards better environmental management and outcomes. The winner of the 2021 Award will receive €75,000[2] to support its activities throughout its European Green Leaf year.

Benefits of winning & applying

Being a European Green Capital or a European Green Leaf brings many benefits including, a greater focus on environmental projects, increased tourism and foreign investment, boosting the local economy and helping to create employment. EGCA and EGLA winners and finalist cities also gain access to the exclusive European Green Capital Network and European Green Leaf Network, respectively, providing them with support and a platform for sharing knowledge and best practice. In addition, previous applicants have said that the application process itself has proved beneficial in evaluating a city’s progress and benchmarking themselves against their peers in Europe.


Both the European Green Capital and European Green Leaf Awards are open to cities in EU Member States², EU Candidate Countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.

More details on eligibility can be found here: EGCA 2022 and EGLA 2021.

Register your interest to access the application forms

All European towns and cities that comply with the eligibility requirements for the respective competitions may apply for the corresponding Award by submitting an online application form.

If your city is interested in applying, you will first need to register your interest here and then you will have access to the full set of application forms. Registration is completely obligation free and does not require you to submit an application at a later date; allowing your city to explore the application process and determine whether you would like to make a formal entry.

The deadline to submit your applications for both the 2022 European Green Capital and 2021 European Green Leaf competitions is 14 October 2019 at 23:59 CEST (GMT +2).

Where can I get more information?

For more information on the application process, please visit EGCA 2022 and EGLA 2021 or email for the EGCA 2022 competition or for the EGLA 2021 competition.

Good luck to all cities!

1 Subject to the approval of the EU 2020 Budget and approval by the College of the 2020 Financing Decision for the EU LIFE Programme.

2 For British candidates or applicants: Please be aware that after the UK’s withdrawal from the EU, the rules of access to EU financial competing procedures of economic operators established in third countries will apply to candidates or applicants from the UK depending on the outcome of the BREXIT negotiations. In case such access to the EU market is not provided by legal provisions in force, candidates or applicants from the UK could be rejected from the financial procedure.