Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by Ursula Bach

European Green Leaf Award

 Towns and Cities, Growing Greener

European Green Leaf Award 2018 - YouTube

The European Green Leaf Award is open to all towns and cities across Europe with a population of 20,000 and up to 100,000 inhabitants. The rules of contest for the latest cycle of the European Green Leaf Award are available here. The rules of contest must be adhered to in order for applicant cities to submit eligible applications.

The 2020 European Green Leaf title was jointly awarded to Limerick in Ireland and Mechelen in Belgium.

The 2019 European Green Leaf title was awarded to both Cornellà de Llobregat in Spain and Horst aan de Maas in the Netherlands. In 2018, the European Green Leaf Award was jointly awarded to the Belgian city of Leuven and Swedish City of Växjö. The Irish city of Galway was the European Green Leaf for 2017. The Spanish city of Mollet del Vallès and the Portuguese city of Torres Vedras were the winners of the inaugural European Green Leaf Awards in 2015. The European competition recognises a city’s commitment to better environmental outcomes. The scheme has a particular focus on efforts that generate green growth and new jobs.

Read the Mollet del Vallès press release here.

Read the Torres Vedras press release here.

Read the Galway press release here.

Read the Leuven press release here.

Read the Växjö press release here.

Read the Cornellà de Llobregat press release here.

Read the Horst aan de Maas press release here.

Read the EGCA 2020 winners press release - Limerick and Mechelen here.

What is the European Green Leaf Award?

Gain recognition for your environmental achievements

The European Green Leaf Award is a competition aimed at cities and towns across Europe, with between populations of 20,000 and up to 100,000 inhabitants, that recognises commitment to better environmental outcomes, with a particular accent on efforts that generate green growth and new jobs.

The objectives of the European Green Leaf Award are threefold:green_leaf

  • To recognise cities that demonstrate a good environmental record and commitment to generating green growth;
  • To encourage cities to actively develop citizens’ environmental awareness and involvement;
  • To identify cities able to act as a ‘green ambassador’ and to encourage other cities to progress towards a better sustainability outcomes.

The European Green Leaf Award is presented on an annual basis by the European Commission in conjunction with the European Green Capital Award.


To underpin the work of creating an ever-better environment for European citizens, the EU adopted the 7th Environment Action Programme (7th EAP) entitled “Living well, within the limits of our planet”. It provides the basis for EU environment policy up to 2020. This programme aims to enhance Europe’s ecological resilience and transform the EU into an inclusive and sustainable green economy.

The 7th EAP includes a specific policy objective “To enhance the sustainability of EU cities”. It foresees that the EU will promote and expand existing initiatives that support innovation and best practices in cities, enabling better networking and exchanges between cities and encouraging the leading ones to show how they lead on sustainable urban development.

The European Green Capital Award (EGCA) launched in 2008, is one such initiative. Following its success, many smaller cities seek EU recognition of their effort and commitment in the areas of sustainability & environment. In response, the European Commission launched the European Green Leaf Award.

If you would like more information on the European Green Leaf Award,  please send an email to: