Green Cities Fit for Life

Image by Ursula Bach

Who can apply?

The European Green Leaf Award is open to:

  • Towns and cities from EU Member States1, EU Candidate Countries, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway and Switzerland.
  • All towns and cities from the countries listed above which have a population of 20,000 and up to 99,999 inhabitants.


  • A ‘city’ is understood to be an urban area and an administrative unit governed by a city council or another form of democratically elected body.
  • In countries where there is no city with more than 20,000 inhabitants, the largest city is eligible to apply.

Rules of contest

  • In any given year, cities can apply for either the European Green Capital Award or European Green Leaf Award, but not both at the same time.
  • Past winners may not apply again after they have been awarded the European Green Leaf title.
  • The signatory should be the Mayor or highest-ranking city representative, authorised by national law to legally represent the city.

Download the latest rules of contest of the European Green Leaf Award (EGLA) here. The rules of contest must be adhered to in order for applicant cities to submit eligible applications.

For more information about how to apply for the latest EGLA competition, please click here or read the guidance note here. Feel free to also email the European Green Leaf Award Secretariat at

If your city has a population over 100,000 then you are only eligible to apply for the European Green Capital Award. Find out more here.

1 For British candidates or applicants: following the withdrawal of the United Kingdom from the European Union and having regard to the fact that these Rules of Contest cover the award of a title to a city for the period after the entry into force of the withdrawal agreement (2023 for EGC or 2022 for EGL), cities located in the United Kingdom and Northern Ireland are not allowed to participate in this competition.