Navigation path

The Developing Country Cooperation Award
  Button Developing Country Cooperation  

This Award is for an international business cooperation involving at least one private entity from the European Union, and another from the private, public, non-governmental or academic sector in an emerging or developing country.

The cooperation must be a business relationship which makes a significant contribution to three elements of sustainable development – environmental protection, economic development, and social development – by transferring or sharing knowledge or technology or a management system.

The business cooperation should be part of a commercially viable business operation and be planned effectively and adequately resourced to achieve its stated objectives. These might include:

  • Transfer or sharing of knowledge or technology or a management system
  • Environmental protection or enhancement
  • Improving a product
  • Improving working conditions

The list of developing countries given in the United Nation’s World Economic Situation and Prospects (WESP) (see page 135) should be used as a reference point for indicating which countries are eligible. The UN Sustainable Development Goals set a useful framework for the type of activity foreseen.