Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries

The Organisation of Petroleum Exporting Countries (OPEC) coordinates the oil policies of its 12 members – Algeria, Angola, Ecuador, Iran, Iraq, Kuwait, Libya, Nigeria, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, the United Arab Emirates, and Venezuela.

The EU imports around 40% of its oil from OPEC members. In cooperating with OPEC, the EU aims to promote

  • more stable and transparent international oil markets
  • an attractive investment climate
  • better market analysis and forecasts
  • improved technological and international cooperation
  • promotion of clean energy technologies and policies - clean energy transition

EU-OPEC high-level meetings:

EU-OPEC round table meetings:

Related links