Baltic energy market interconnection plan

The primary objective of the Baltic energy market interconnection plan (BEMIP) initiative is to achieve an open and integrated regional electricity and gas market between EU countries in the Baltic Sea region. The initiative's members are Denmark, Germany, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Poland, Finland and Sweden. Norway participates as an observer.

Working groups and projects

Dedicated working groups on infrastructure, markets, gas and electricity, security of supply, synchronisation, renewables and energy efficiency, prepare specific measures, projects and studies necessary for achieving the initiative's objectives and targets.

As part of the BEMIP implementation, a number of cross-border and domestic infrastructure projects (projects of common interest) have been completed across the Baltics to improve their integration with the Nordic electricity market. The key electricity infrastructure projects, such as Estlink, Nordbalt and the LitPol Link, connecting the three Baltic States with Finland, Sweden and Poland respectively, significantly improved the Baltic countries' integration in the EU energy market, and their security of supply.

Further efforts are needed in the region to complete synchronisation of the three Baltic States with European networks, increase transmission capacity in the remote Nordic area, develop a regional gas market, and make the most of the region's energy efficiency and renewable energy potential, both onshore and offshore.

Synchronisation of the Baltic States’ electricity grid with European networks

The three Baltic States' electricity grid still operates synchronously with the Russian and Belarusian systems. A dedicated BEMIP working group steers the work to achieve, by 2025, the synchronisation of the Baltics' grid with the continental European network.

On 28 June 2018, the Heads of State or Government of Lithuania, Latvia, Estonia and Poland together with EC President Juncker, endorsed the political roadmap for synchronising the Baltic States' electricity grid with the continental European network by the target date 2025. They met again, accompanied also by Vice-President Maroš Šefčovič, in Brussels on 20 June 2019 for the signature of the political roadmap.

Several meetings have been organised in the context of the Baltic energy market interconnection plan (BEMIP) high-level group on the synchronisation of the Baltic States network with the continental European network, for which conclusions are available: 

Gas projects

Other major projects of common interest (PCIs) on gas in the Baltic region include

  • the Gas Interconnector Poland – Lithuania (GIPL), which aims to connect the Baltic and Finnish gas networks with the continental European gas network by the end of 2021
  • the Balticconnector, which will provide an important gas link between Finland and Estonia and will connect the Finnish gas network with the continental European Network, ending Finland's gas isolation from the rest of mainland Europe. Balticconnector will allow Finland and the Baltic States to diversify their gas sources, providing alternative routes and increasing the security of gas supply and energy market integration in the region. This will foster competition on the market and ultimately provide consumers with a cheaper and more stable gas supply.
  • the development of infrastructure between the Baltic States

Estonia, Finland, Latvia and Lithuania agreed on 20 April 2020 to establish a process for the future regional gas market integration of their respective countries. It will be the first four-country wide cross-border gas market merger in the EU, which will help to upscale the production of renewable and decarbonised gases in the region.

BEMIP Memorandum of Understanding

The first Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) on the BEMIP initiative was signed on 17 June 2009 and focused on electricity and gas markets, infrastructure and power generation.

On 8 June 2015, a new MoU was signed extending the initiative's scope to security of supply, energy efficiency, renewable energy and the integration of the Baltic States' electricity network into the continental European network, including their synchronous operation.

On 30 September 2020, the Energy Ministers for the eight EU countries in the Baltic Sea region and Commissioner Kadri Simson signed a declaration committing themselves to closer cooperation on offshore wind in the Baltic Sea.


Related links