This site has been archived on 27/01/17

Navigation path

The website of the Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs has moved.

You will find all publications issued after July 2015 on the new web presence.

3 - Convergence report 2010

Author(s): Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs (ECFIN), European Commission

Convergence report 2010pdf(3 MB) Choose translations of the previous link 


Article 140(1) of the Treaty on the Functioning of the European Union (henceforth TFEU) requires the Commission and the ECB to report to the Council, at least once every two years, or at the request of a Member State with a derogation, on the progress made by the Member States in fulfilling their obligations regarding the achievement of economic and monetary union. The latest Commission and ECB regular Convergence Reports were adopted in May 2008.

The 2010 Convergence Report covers the following nine Member States with a derogation: Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Hungary, Poland, Romania and Sweden. Denmark and the United Kingdom have not expressed a wish to adopt the euro and are therefore not covered in the assessment. A more detailed assessment of the state of convergence in these countries is provided in a Technical Annex to this report (SEC(2010) 598).

(European Economy 3. May 2010. Brussels. PDF. 211pp. Tab. Graph. Ann. PDF Free.)

KC-AR-10-003-EN-C (online)
ISBN 978-92-79-14805-7 (online)
ISSN 0379-0991 (online)
doi: 10.2765/35958 (online)

Additional tools

  • Print version 
  • Decrease text 
  • Increase text