

- **Alberto Alesina** is the Nathaniel Ropes Professor of Political Economy at Harvard University. He is also a member of the National Bureau of Economic Research and a Research Fellow of the Center for Economic Policy Research (CEPR), London.
- **Torben Andersen** is Professor in Economics at the University of Aarhus, School of Economics and Management. He is also affiliated to CEPR, CESifo and IZA.
- **Sean Berrigan** is the Director for "Financial stability and monetary affairs" in the European Commission's Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs.
- Peter Bekx is the Director for "International economic and financial relations, global governance" in the European Commission's Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs
- Peter Bofinger is Professor for Monetary Policy and International Economics at the University of Wuerzburg, member of the German Council of Economic Experts and a Research Fellow of the CEPR.
- **4** Marco Buti is the Director General of the European Commission's Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs.
- **Barry Eichengreen** is the George C. Pardee and Helen N. Pardee Professor of Economics and Professor of Political Science at the University of California, Berkeley. He is a CEPR Research Fellow, and a Fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, and the convener of the Bellagio Group of academics and economic officials.
- **Jorgen Elmeskov** is Director of the Policy Studies Branch of the OECD Economics Department. He has worked in the OECD since 1986 in various capacities, being associated, inter alia, with the OECD Jobs Strategy, the OECD Growth Project and the Organisation's work on climate change and on globalisation.
- **Xavier Freixas** is Professor at the Universitat Pompeu Fabra in Barcelona (Spain) and Research Fellow at CEPR. He is also Chairman of the Risk Based Regulation Program of the Global Association of Risk Professionals (GARP).
- **Juergen Kroeger** is the Director for "Economies of the Member States I" in the European Commission's Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs.
- Vitor Gaspar has been Special Adviser at Banco de Portugal since February 2010. Previously, he was Head of the Bureau of European Policy Advisers (BEPA) of the European Commission from 2007 to 2010. Before that, between 1998 and 2004 he was Director-General for Research at the European Central Bank.
- Philip Lane is Professor of International Macroeconomics at Trinity College Dublin. He is also Research Fellow of CEPR, International Research Fellow of the Kiel Institute for World Economics, and he is a member of the Royal Irish academy.

- **4** Thomas Mayer is Managing Director of Deutsche Bank Research and the Chief Economist of Deutsche Bank Group. Before taking up his assignment in January 2010, Thomas Mayer was Chief European Economist in Deutsche Bank's Global Markets Division. Following time with the Kiel Institute for the World Economy and the International Monetary Fund in Washington, Mayer first worked as an economist with Salomon Brothers and Goldman Sachs before joining Deutsche Bank in 2002.
- 4 Mathias Mors is a principal adviser and the acting Director for "Economies of the Member States II" in the European Commission's Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs.
- **Gian Maria Milesi-Feretti** is Assistant Director in the Research Department of the International Monetary Fund. His main areas of responsibility include the preparation of exchange rate assessments for major advanced economies and emerging markets, as well as research on global imbalances and international capital flows. Since 1996 he is a Research Fellow of CEPR.
- **Karl Pichelmann** is a senior adviser in the European Commission's Directorate General for Economic and Financial Affairs, acting as the Chair of the Programme Committee for the ARC 2010. He is also a Professor Adjoint at the Institute d'Etudes Europeennes of the Universite Libre de Bruxelles.
- **Thomas Piketty** is Professor at the Paris School of Economics and Directeur d'études à l'EHESS (L'Ecole des Hautes Etudes en Sciences Sociales). He is a leading scholar in the field of income inequality and the distribution of wealth.
- **Jean Pisani-Ferry** is the Director of Bruegel, the Brussels-based economic think tank, and professor of economics with *Université Paris-Dauphine*. He was previously Executive President of the French PM's Council of Economic Analysis (2001-2002), Senior Economic Adviser to the French Minister of Finance (1997-2000), Director of CEPII, the French institute for international economics (1992-1997), and Economic Adviser with the European Commission (1989-92).
- **4** Olli Rehn is the European Commissioner responsible for Economic and Monetary Affairs. His present mandate took effect on 11 February 2010.
- **Helene Rey** is Chaired Professor of Economics at the London Business School. She is an elected member of both the Council of the European Economic Association and the Council of the Royal Economic Society (UK). She won an Alfred P Sloan Research Fellowship and the Bernácer Prize for best European Macroeconomist under 40.
- **Andre Sapir** is Professor at ULB, where he holds a chair in international economics and European integration. He is also a Senior Fellow of the Brussels European and Global Economic Laboratory (BRUEGEL) and a Research Fellow of CEPR.
- Dirk Schoenmaker is Dean of the Duisenberg School of Finance and Professor of Finance, Banking and Insurance at the VU University Amsterdam. Before his appointment at the Duisenberg School in 2009, he served at the Ministry of Finance and the Ministry of Economic Affairs in the Netherlands.

- **Vito Tanzi** is a former Director of the Fiscal Affairs Department at the IMF, and former Undersecretary for Economy and Finance in the Italian Government. He is also the Honorary President of the IIPF, the International Institute for Public Finance.
- **Raymond Torres** is the Director of the International Institute for Labour Studies at the International Labour Organization. He is Assistant Professor at the University of Paris-Dauphine and a Policy Fellow at the IZA Research Institute.
- Juergen von Hagen is Professor of Economics at the University of Bonn, Director of the "Institut für Internationale Wirtschaftspolitik", and a Fellow at the Center for Economic Policy Research.
- Paul van den Noord is a senior adviser at the OECD to the organisation's Chief Economist. From 2007-2010 he was a member of the Group of Advisers of the Directorate-General for Economic and Financial Affairs of the European Commission. Previously he was a member of the Economics Department of the OECD where he has been *inter alia* main author of the leading chapter of the biannual OECD *Economic Outlook*.
- Nicolas Veron is a Resident Scholar at Bruegel and has worked there full-time since 2005. In late 2009 he also joined the Peterson Institute for International Economics as a Visiting Fellow, and currently divides his time each month equally between the US and Europe.
- **Andrew Watt** is a senior researcher at ETUI, the European Trade Union Institute, with a wide array of publications in the field of economic and employment policy.
- William White is the current chairman of the OECD's Economic Development Review Committee. He joined the Bank for International Settlements in June 1994 as Manager in the Monetary and Economic Department, and was Economic Adviser and Head of the Monetary and Economic Department from May 1995 to June 2008; prior to coming to the BIS, he spent 22 years with the Bank of Canada.