BRUSSELS ECONOMIC FORUM 2014

Sustaining the Recovery: Strategies and Policies for Growth and Stability

Tuesday, 10 June Charlemagne Conference Centre

08:00-09:00 REGISTRATION 09:00-09:30 KEYNOTE ADDRESS: José Manuel Barroso, President, European Commission 09:30-11:00 LESSONS FROM THE CRISIS RESPONSE FOR THE WAY FORWARD Moderator: Peter Spiegel, Bureau Chief, Financial Times Olli Rehn, Vice President, European Commission (introduction, 15 minutes) Jörg Asmussen, State Secretary, Ministry of Labour, Germany Maria Luís Albuquerque, Minister of State and Finance, Portugal **Reza Moghadam**, Director of the European Department, IMF Valdis Dombrovskis, MP, former Prime Minister, Latvia 11:00-11:30 COFFEE BREAK 11:30-12:45 EUROPE'S GROWTH PROSPECTS IN THE GLOBALISED ECONOMY Moderator: Rebecca Christie, News Correspondent, Bloomberg Anders Åslund, Peterson Institute Bettina Wasteels, EU Development Director, GDF Suez André Sapir, Senior Fellow, Bruegel Eric Bartelsman, Professor of Economics, Vrije Universiteit, Amsterdam Marco Buti, Director General, European Commission IOI LUNCH 12:45-14:15 14:15-17:45 **AFTERNOON SESSION** 14:15-15:30 THE ROLE OF STRUCTURAL REFORM FOR ADJUSTMENT AND GROWTH Moderator: Simon Nixon, Chief European Commentator, Wall Street Journal Bernadette Ségol, Secretary General, ETUC Fernando Jiménez Latorre, Deputy Minister, Economic Affairs and Competitiveness, Spain Thérèse de Liedekerke, Deputy Director General, BusinessEurope Servaas Deroose, Deputy Director General, European Commission 15:30-16:00 COFFEE BREAK FINANCING THE RECOVERY: THE STATE OF EUROPE'S FINANCIAL SECTOR 16:00-17:15 MODERATOR: Beda Romano, EU Correspondent, Il Sole/24 Ore Yves Mersch, Board member, European Central Bank Marek Belka, President, National Bank of Poland Jaime Sáenz de Tejada, Chief Financial Officer, BBVA Gertrude Tumpel-Gugerell, Emerita Consultant, Austrian Institute of Economic Research Maarten Verwey, Deputy Director General, European Commission 4th Annual Tommaso Padoa-Schioppa Lecture – Herman Van Rompuy, President of 17:15-17:45 the European Council

17:45

END OF CONFERENCE