The first ever Innovation Convention, convened by European Commissioner for Research, Innovation and Science, Máire Geoghegan-Quinn, has been officially opened this afternoon by European Commission President, José Manuel Barroso. Both of them, along with Vice President Antonio Tajani, presented the first EU Women Innovators Prize. Also today, Commissioner Geoghegan-Quinn and EIB President Maystadt have signed an agreement on the Risk Sharing Finance Facility, a joint initiative of the European Commission and the EIB to support higher risk and reward investment in research and innovation. Finally, President Barroso used this occasion to announce the name of the European Commission's first Chief Scientific Advisor.