During the Innovation Convention, the winners of the EU Prize for Women Innovators, Gitte Neubauer, Fabienne Hermitte and Ilaria Rosso, were awarded - see the winners's related videos. The European Commission has launched this contest to reward women innovators who have achieved outstanding innovations and brought them to market. The prize aims to inspire and raise awareness of the need for more women innovators and entrepreneurs. The contest was open to all women who have at some stage participated in the EU Framework Programmes.