Find out the nominees of the European Broadband Awards 2018 that made a difference! The expert jury has selected 15 finalists and the winners will be honoured on the 19th of November at the Award ceremony in Brussels.

Logo of the European Broadband Awards 2018

A jury of five broadband experts assessed the project applications and selected the following finalists:

Category 1: Innovative models of financing, business and investment

Category 2: Cost reduction and co-investment in a future proof infrastructure

Category 3: Territorial cohesion in rural and remote areas

Category 4: Socio-economic impact and affordability

Category 5: Openness and competition

The highest number of applications came from Denmark, Germany and Spain. The majority of projects applied in category 3 “Territorial cohesion in rural and remote areas”. The winners of the European Broadband Awards 2018 (one per category) will be honoured in a special ceremony in the evening of the 19th of November in Brussels.

The European Commissioner for Digital Economy and Society Mariya Gabriel will host the ceremony. Commissioner Hogan (Agriculture & Rural Development) will also hand out awards. The next day (20 November 2018) at the Broadband Day: Mind the Broadband Gap Conference, the winners will also feature in a panel, sharing their experience as best practices in Europe.

In 2018-2019, the projects will be featured on DG CONNECT webpages, in newsletters and conferences that will be displayed in the good practice database of “Broadband  Europe” website.