The European Commission services have gathered information on the state of implementation of 116 numbers in the EU Member States.

Twenty-three Member States have completed the preparatory work and opened number 116000, 116111 and 116123 for assignment to a service provider. Six Member States - Belgium, Portugal, Greece, Denmark, Hungary and the Netherlands - have assigned 116000. Six Member States – Czech Republic, Denmark, Finland, Hungary, Portugal and Sweden - have assigned 116111. Four Member States –Finland, Ireland, Sweden and Slovenia - have assigned 116123. The Commission understands the difficulties surrounding the implementation of the first 116 numbers but considers that more could be done by competent ministries, national regulators, telecoms operators to make these three numbers operational in their own countries.

116 Website

Related documents: