HeERO is an international pilot project preparing the general roll-out of the EU-wide seamless eCall service.

In running national and cross-border pilot projects, HeERO will prove that eCall is operational and ready for becoming a reality for all European citizens. HeERO's consortium includes 8 EU Member States (Czech Republic, Finland, Germany, Greece, Italy, the Netherlands, Romania and Sweden) and Croatia.

In cooperation with Croatia, Finland and Romania, the Russian Federation will demonstrate in cross-border trials that eCall and its ERA-GLONASS emergency call service can interplay without any friction. HeERO started on 1 January 2011 and will end on 31 December 2013. The European Union will provide 5 million Euro to the project's overall budget of 10 million Euro.