At the eHealth 2008 Conference in Portoroz, Slovenia, organised by the Slovenian Ministry of Health and the European Commission, EU Member States have agreed 'The Portorož Declaration' on eHealth in a Europe “without frontiers”: Building New Initiatives – Working Together

People-centred eHealth initiatives provide all Europe's citizens with smarter health environments

The Member States and the European Commission commit to support together the deployment of high-capacity infrastructure and infostructure for health and social care information networks and services such as telemedicine (teleradiology, teleconsultation, telemonitoring, telecare), ePrescription and eReferral. With continued commitment from all the actors involved, European-wide cooperation on electronic health services will lead to the successful formation of a European health information area. As a result, the health of European citizens and the sustainability of European health care systems will benefit considerably.

Related documents: