Professors Clivia Sotomayor and Dermot Diamond will chair the advisory group for the next 2 years. Clivia will take the leading chair role in the first year and they will reverse roles for the second year. Former chair Professor Jerzy Langer shares his full support to the Future and Emerging Technologies (FET) programme in a blog post.

Pictures of Clivia and Dermot

The Future and Emerging Technologies Advisory Group (FETAG)  is an advisory entity set up to ensure that the European Commission receives consistent and consolidated advice during the preparation of the Horizon 2020 work programmes, with respect to the Future and Emerging Technologies.

Prof. Sotomayor is an ICREA Research Professor at the Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology in Barcelona, Spain.

She said: "For over 2 decades, FET has been and is an exceptionally highly valued program by European researchers who, in addition to excellent science, work together in consortia to advance emerging technologies-oriented research and to enhance the probability of breakthroughs to eventually feed the value chain towards higher technology readiness levels and European competitiveness. I am honoured by the trust of the FETAG to work for and champion the FET program"

Prof. Diamond works at the National Centre for Sensor Research in Dublin, Ireland.

He said "I am delighted to have been elected as co-chair of the FETAG.  During my term, I will work closely with my co-chair, fellow members of the FETAG and the Commission FET team of DG Connect, to ensure that the FET priority topics and organisational arrangements evolve towards enhanced participation and societal impact, while preserving the visionary basis of this unique programme".

Professors Sotomayor and Diamond replace Professor Jerzy Langer, who chaired the FETAG since March 2015. Professor Langer believed strongly in the benefits of the FET programme, as expressed in this blog post.