The notion of territorial jurisdiction determines which Member State’s regulation shall apply to a certain audiovisual media service.

The European Regulators Group for the Audiovisual media services (ERGA) was established in March 2014, by the European Commission’s Decision C(2014)462 of 3 February 2014, as an advisory body to the Commission.

The report on territorial jurisdiction represents a collective view of ERGA on how the provisions on territorial jurisdiction of the AVMS Directive should evolve. This is part of a wider programme of work assessing the evolution of the European regulatory framework in a converged media age, which includes: