The 2018 edition of the eGovernment factsheets has been published by the European Commission's National Interoperability Framework Observatory (NIFO). The factsheets offer a comprehensive overview of policies and activities related to the implementation and the delivery of digital public services in 34 countries (28 EU countries, FYROM, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland and Turkey).

EU flags

Produced in collaboration with national eGovernment experts, the eGov factsheets serve as a unique tool to identify best-of-class input and practices in the field of eGovernment policy in particular, and the modernisation of public administration in general. Each national eGov factsheet is composed of:

  • Country profile: national description of each country presenting its basic data, political structure and key relevant indicators
  • Highlights: to put focus on the most significant change and progress achieved in 2017
  • Strategy: the main strategic objectives and principles at national level
  • Legal Framework: the main legal texts impacting on the development of eGovernment
  • eGovernment Actors: to list and explain the main roles and responsibilities
  • eGovernment Infrastructure: description of the technical infrastructure components supporting eGov implementation in the country
  • eGovernment Services for Citizens and Businesses: availability and sophistication of eServices for both citizens and businesses,  grouped by thematic

To allow for a quick overview, NIFO has also produced one page infographics to accompany the factsheets.

View all eGovernment factsheets and infographics

NIFO is a project service provided by the European Commission's ISA² Programme delivering solutions for European public administrations, citizens and businesses. It assists EU countries in monitoring the take up of eGovernment and interoperability.