The European Commission has launched a Europe-wide competition for a European Broadband Award aimed at identifying the five best projects of high-speed broadband networks – the so-called Next Generation Networks (NGN) delivering at least 30 Mbps in urban, suburban and rural areas.

Announcement of the European Broadband Award with text: "Deadline for submission: 18 September 2018"

Why a European Broadband Award?

The exchange of good practices is important for the achievement of the European broadband targets for 2020:

  • 100% coverage of 30Mbps
  • 50% household penetration of 100Mbps services.

Who can Participate?

Projects can be submitted by any public authority (national, regional or local) and any big or small privately funded projects that have been actively involved in planning and building up NGN infrastructure in recent years.

Selection Criteria

Projects will be selected according to a set of criteria related to:

  • Social and economic impact and affordability
  • Innovative business and financing models,
  • Cost reduction and co-investment measures,
  • Competition and open access,
  • Future proof and quality of service.

Timeline for applications

Applications can be submitted from the 18th of June until the 18th of September 2015 using the template for submission of the  European Broadband Award and sent to the evaluation team. Read the explanation of the evaluation process.

Assessment Board

A jury of 5 international experts and relevant EC Services will assess the applications on the basis of the criteria above.

Name Role Organisation Country
Prof. Olov Forsgren Computer and Systems Sciences Stockholm University, Department of Computer and Systems Sciences Sweden
Assistant Prof. Dr. Nico Grove Infrastructure Economics & Management Bauhaus University of Weimar Germany
Prof. Gérard Pogorel Economics and Management Emeritus, ENST‐Telecom, ParisTech. France
Prof. Jiangzhou Wang Telecommunications University of Kent, School of Engineering and Digital Arts United Kingdom
Magdalena Jähler Project Manager Broadband Europe AteneKom Germany


Broadband Awards

The winners will be awarded during the EU Broadband event on 16 November 2015 in Brussels. Projects' representatives will be invited to take part in the events and workshops aimed at the spread of broadband good practices in the regional and rural domains.