The expert group supports the Commission in monitoring the evolution of the online platform economy for evidence-based and problem-focused policymaking.

Following a competitive selection process, the Commission has appointed 15 high-profile experts as members of the expert group for the Observatory on the Online Platform Economy. As this group is set up by a Commission Decision, it is part of the Register of Commission expert groups.

At its on 27 September 2018, the group adopted its rules of procedure and selected Prof. Bruno Liebhaberg as its chairperson.

Objectives of the expert group

The Expert group has several tasks:

  1. advise the Commission on the main trends of the online platform economy.
  2. analyse potentially harmful practices within the online platform economy, including:
    • issues related to algorithmic decision-making and ranking, including the question of transparency;
    • access to, and use of, different categories data, including personal data;
    • issues related to remuneration for material displayed online, in particular in relation to search results;
    • transparency and accountability in business-to-business commercial relations in online advertising;
    • differentiated treatment when business users on platforms compete with products offered by the platform;
    • restrictions on business users by platforms for offering different conditions when using other distribution channels;
    • possible impacts of these potentially harmful practices on consumers;
  3. assist the Commission in the preparation of its annual work programme regarding these issues;
  4. analyse the evolution of policy measures related to the online platform economy in the Member States, the Union or in third countries;
  5. communicate with other relevant experts or centres of excellence upon the request and supervision of the Commission.

The expert group will produce a report at the end of its mandate. The report will outline the main findings of the expert group and undergo public consultation before publication. Three preliminary reports have been published and are open to feedback until 8 September.

We invite stakeholders and other relevant bodies at EU or national level to engage with the experts through the Futurium platform.

Members of the expert group

  • Bruno Liebhaberg

    Bruno Liebhaberg

    Chairman of the EU Observatory on the online platform economy and Director General of the Centre on Regulation in Europe (CERRE), Belgium

  • Christoph Busch

    Christoph Busch

    Professor of German and European Private and Business Law and Private International Law at the University of Osnabrück, Germany

  • Inge Graef

    Inge Graef

    Assistant Professor at Tilburg Law School, Netherlands

  • Annabelle Gawer

    Annabelle Gawer

    Professor and Chair in Digital Economy at the University of Surrey, UK

  • Jeanette Hofman

    Jeanette Hofman

    Professor of Internet Politics at the Freie Universität Berlin, Germany

  • Martin Husovec

    Martin Husovec

    Assistant Professor at the Tilburg University, Netherlands

  •  Doh-Shin Jeon

    Doh-Shin Jeon

    Professor of Economics at Toulouse School of Economics, France

  • Vili Lehdonvirta

    Vili Lehdonvirta

    Associate Professor and Senior Research Fellow at the Oxford Internet Institute, University of Oxford, UK

  • Agata Majchrowska

    Agata Majchrowska

    Lawyer and Researcher, Poland

  • Elisabetta Raguseo

    Elisabetta Raguseo

    Assistant Professor at Politecnico di Torino, Italy

  • Bernhard Rieder

    Bernhard Rieder

    Associate Professor of New Media and Digital Culture at the University of Amsterdam, Netherlands

  • Teresa Rodríguez de las Heras Ballell

    Teresa Rodríguez de las Heras Ballell

    Associate Professor of Commercial Law at University Carlos III of Madrid, Spain

  • Sophie Stalla-Bourdillon

    Sophie Stalla-Bourdillon

    Professor in Information Technology Law and Data Governance within Southampton Law School at the University of Southampton, UK

  • Joris van Hoboken

    Joris van Hoboken

    Professor of Law at the Vrije Universiteit Brussels (VUB), Belgium and a Senior Researcher at the Institute for Information Law (IViR), University of Amsterdam, Netherlands.

  • Elena Vitkauskaité

    Elena Vitkauskaité

    Researcher at the Digitisation Research Group, Kaunas University of Technology, Lithuania