The eGovernment action plan 2016-2020 will modernise digital public services and make the EU a better place to work, live and invest.

The Action Plan will enable people to get the full benefit from digital public services that should be available seamlessly across the EU. The Commission plans to:

  • Set up a Digital Single Gateway enabling users to obtain all information, assistance and problem solving services needed to operate efficiently across borders.
  • Interconnect all business registries and insolvency registers and connect them to the eJustice portal, which will become a one-stop shop.
  • Pilot the "once-only" principle for businesses across borders so they only need to provide information to a public administration in one EU country and if permitted it is then re-used between different countries.
  • Help EU Member States develop cross-border eHealth services such as e-prescriptions.
  • Accelerate the transition to e-procurement and implementation of the once-only principle in public procurement.

In order to achieve its objectives, the eGovernment Action Plan identifies 20 actions addressing one of the following policy priorities:

  • Modernising public administrations using Key Digital Enablers,
  • Enabling mobility of citizens and businesses by cross-border interoperability,
  • Facilitating digital interaction between administrations and citizens/businesses for high-quality public services.

Further actions may be proposed either by the Commission or by stakeholders, including Member States and public administrations at all levels.

Read more on the eGovernment action plan 2016-2020.