Opinion No 3

of the European Union Affairs Committee of the Sejm of the Republic of Poland on the Conference on the Future of Europe adopted at the 13th meeting on 12 February 2020

At the meetings held on 30 January and 12 February 2020, the European Union Affairs Committee of the Sejm of the Republic of Poland consulted with the utmost attention documents regarding the Conference on the Future of Europe, including the European Parliament Resolution of 15 January 2020, the Contribution of the Conference of Parliamentary Committees for Union Affairs of Parliaments of the European Union (COSAC) of December 2019 and January 2020, the position of the Polish government, and held a discussion.

In the context of work on the preparation and subsequent functioning of the Conference on the Future of Europe, and for the sake of enhancing citizen engagement in the activities of the European Union and strengthening the role of the national parliaments of the European Union, the Committee considers it highly relevant:

- to ensure that the national parliaments of the European Union have the same level of representation in the work of the Conference on the Future of Europe as the European Parliament;
- 2. to draw attention to the still untapped potential of the national parliaments in the legislative and decision-making processes of the European Union which, once released, could ensure a better representation and participation of the Member States citizens in the functioning of the European Union;
- 3. to seek active subsidiarity in the European Union by establishing a special channel for the national parliaments to consult with the European Commission at the early stages of drafting a legislative proposal and thus increasing the participation of the national parliaments in the EU policy-making process;
- to ensure transparency in the European Union decision- and law-making processes, including recognising the particular importance of impact assessment in the law-making process.

The Committee states that it will submit the adopted opinion, as part of the political dialogue, to: the President of the European Commission, the President of the European Parliament and the Croatian Presidency.

Committee Chairperson
/-/ Stanisław Tyszka