Skip to main content

Culture and Creativity

We are currently in the process of translating this page into other official EU languages.

Published:  8 Sep 2021

Second list of nominations to EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture 2022 announced

The European Commission and Fundació Mies van der Rohe have announced 85 new works competing in the 2022 edition of the EU Mies Award.

EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture 2022 announcement

The second list of nominations includes 85 works completed between October 2020 and April 2021. The first list of nominations for the 2022 award included 447 works completed between October 2018 and October 2020.

(2 projects from the first phase have fallen out of the selection, as these have not been finished in time due to Covid. This is why the final number of nominations in the 1st phase is 447 instead of 449)

As a result, the EU Mies Award 2022 will encompass 532 works finished between October 2018 and April 2021. The works nominated illustrate the contribution of quality architecture to a more sustainable, inclusive and beautiful living environment.

30% of the works are regeneration or transformation projects of existing buildings, whether they are heritage buildings or not.

Selection process

An international jury of distinguished professionals, chaired by Tatiana Bilbao will review the nominated works. The shortlist of 40 works will be announced in January 2022, while the winners will be revealed in April 2022. The award ceremony will take place in Barcelona in May 2022.


The principal objectives of the Prize are to recognise and commend excellence and innovation in the field of architecture. The Prize also wants to highlight the important contribution of European architects to the sustainable development and transformation of Europe’s built environment.


Published:  8 Sep 2021