Skip to main content

Culture and Creativity

Published:  30 Mar 2021

Member States pre-select 21 sites for European Heritage Label

The European Commission received 21 proposals from 15 Member States participating in the European Heritage Label action, 2021.

Three Brothers Latvia
Tourist taking photo of complex of old buildings - The Three Brothers - Riga, Latvia.

This year, 15 Member States taking part in the European Heritage Label programme have pre-selected 21 sites for the award.

History and culture of Europe

The goal of the European Heritage Label is to raise awareness of European shared history and to highlight education opportunities. The award strengthens people’s sense of belonging to the European Union’s values and identification with Europe’s cultural heritage. 

Sites which have played a significant role in the history and culture of Europe are eligible for the European Heritage Label award.

An independent panel of experts will evaluate the pre-selected sites in order to narrow it down to one site per Member State. The European Commission will formally nominate the selected sites to receive the European Heritage Label in 2022, following the evaluation.

List of pre-selected sites

Member States have pre-selected the following sites for the 2021 Selection:

  • Grand Commandery Alden Biesen, Belgium
  • MigratieMuseumMigration, Belgium
  • Museum Center "Thracian Art in the Eastern Rhodopes": the Unknown European Ancestors, Bulgaria
  • Fulda and Petersberg – Centers of the Carolingian Education Reform, Germany
  • The Oderbruch | A landscape made by people, Germany
  • Archaeological Site of Nemea, Greece
  • Almadén Mining Park, Spain
  • Seminaarinmäki Campus – Equality of Education, Finland
  • The Wellspring of Multilingualism - Baška Tablet (Bašćanska ploča) and the Complex of the Church of St Lucy, Croatia
  • Vučedol Culture Museum and Vučedol Archaeological Site – source of European civilization, Croatia
  • Mariapocs National Shrine, Hungary
  • Land of Water, Land in Water. The Po River Delta and Venice, Italy
  • Ventotene, Italy
  • Echternach Saint Willibrord Heritage, Luxembourg
  • The Historical Centre of Turaida, Latvia
  • The Address of the Polish Bishops to the German Bishops, November 18, 1965, Poland
  • Lech Hill with Gniezno Cathedral, Poland
  • Lines of Torres Vedras, Portugal
  • ASTRA Museum of Traditional Folk Civilization, Romania
  • The Palace of the European Commission of the Danube, Romania
  • Medieval wall painting in Gemer and Malohont Regions,
Published:  30 Mar 2021