Skip to main content

Culture and Creativity

We are currently in the process of translating this page into other official EU languages.

Published:  25 May 2021

European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards 2021 announced

The European Commission and Europa Nostra have announced the winners of the 2021 European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards, funded by the EU’s Creative Europe programme.

european heritage awards winners 2021

Mariya Gabriel, the Commissioner for Innovation, Research, Culture, Education and Youth, and Hermann Parzinger, Executive Vice-President of Europa Nostra co-hosted an online event on 25 May to announce the winners of the 2021 European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards.

This EU prize honours 24 excellent initiatives and outstanding personalities from 18 European countries in 4 categories:


  • Gare Maritime, Brussels, Belgium
  • Haus Am Horn, Weimar, Germany
  • Fredensborg Palace Garden, Denmark
  • Mas de Burot, Los Ports Natural Park, Spain
  • Besòs Water Tower, Barcelona, Spain
  • Vardzia Rock-Cut Complex, Georgio
  • Plaka Bridge, Epirus, Greece
  • 18 Ormond Quay Upper, Dublin, Ireland
  • Wooden Church of Urși Village, Vâlcea County, Romania


  • ART-RISK - Artificial intelligence applied to preventive conservation, Spain
  • FIBRANET - FIBRes in Ancient European Textiles, Greece/Denmark
  • Control Shift - European Industrial Heritage Reuse in Review, Greece/Netherlands

Dedicated Service

  • Gjirokastra Foundation, Albania
  • Bicommunal Technical Committee on Cultural Heritage, Cyprus
  • Rita Bargna, Italy
  • GEFAC - Group of Ethnography and Folklore of the Academy of Coimbra, Portugal

Education, Training and Awareness-raising

  • Following in the Steps of Bulgarian Folklore, Bulgaria
  • Recovery and Dissemination of Artisan Lime Production, Morón de la Frontera, Spain
  • Heritage Hubs, Finland/Serbia/Italy/Spain
  • The Invention of a Guilty Party, Trento, Italy
  • Holidays! In the East and West - The School Church, Groningen, Netherland
  • European Solidarity Centre - Permanent Exhibition, Gdańsk, Poland
  • Morus Londinium: London’s Heritage through Trees, United Kingdom
  • Archaeology at Home    , United Kingdom

The 4 winners of the Grand Prix (each receiving €10,000) and the Public Choice Award, chosen from the winning projects, will be announced after the summer.

The online vote to select the Public Choice Award winner among these 24 exceptional laureates is open until 5 September.

Find out more on the awards’ website.

Tagged in:  Creative Europe
Published:  25 May 2021