Award ceremony European Union Prize for Literature

Award ceremony European Union Prize for Literature

Mon, 17/11/2014 - 01:11


The EU Prize for Literature recognises the best new and emerging authors in Europe. This year’s winners are:

  • Ben Blushi (Albania)
  • Milen Ruskov (Bulgaria)
  • Jan Němec (Czech Republic)
  • Makis Tsitas (Greece)
  • Oddný Eir (Iceland)
  • Janis Jonevs (Latvia)
  • Armin Öhri (Liechtenstein)
  • Pierre J. Mejlak (Malta)
  • Ognjen Spahić (Montenegro)
  • Marente de Moor (The Netherlands)
  • Uglješa Šajtinac (Serbia)
  • Birgül Oğuz (Turkey)
  • Evie Wyld (United Kingdom)

The awards will be given by Mr Tibor Navracsics, European Commissioner for Education and Culture, in the presence of members of the European Parliament and of the Italian Presidency of the Council of the EU and leading representatives of the worlds of literature, culture and politics.

The EU Prize for Literature, launched in 2009, highlights the creativity and diversity of Europe’s contemporary fiction and promotes publishing, translation and reading of books from other countries.

The Prize is unique; it is the only book award given to authors from a such a wide range of countries and languages.

The EU Prize for Literature is open to countries participating in Creative Europe, the EU programme for the cultural and creative sectors.