Skip to main content

Culture and Creativity

Praegu on käimas uue sisu tõlkimine teistesse ELi ametlikesse keeltesse.

EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture - Mies van der Rohe Award

The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture - the Mies van der Rohe Award - has been awarded since 2001 to celebrate excellence in architectural works built across Europe. The award also highlights the contribution of quality architecture to sustainable development and citizens' well-being.

What is the Mies van der Rohe Award?

The EU Prize for Contemporary Architecture is a biennial prize highlighting outstanding architectural works built across Europe. Besides the main prize (€60,000), the Award also includes the Emerging Architect Prize (€20,000).

Since 2001, the prize has been co-organised by the European Commission and the Fundació Mies van der Rohe every other year. The prize was called the Mies van der Rohe Award from 1988, when it was created, until 1998. It is also referred to in short as the EU Mies Award.

The award ceremony is held in May in the Mies van der Rohe Pavilion in Barcelona, Spain. A catalogue and a travelling exhibition are produced to present the nominated, shortlisted and awarded projects for each prize. An app is also available to view and locate nominated works.

What does the Award celebrate?

The EU Mies Award is awarded to single architectural works demonstrating excellence in conceptual, social, cultural and technical terms. It raises awareness of quality architecture and its contribution to the well-being of citizens and the sustainable development of European cities, towns and villages.

The EU Mies Award highlights the involvement of the European Union in supporting both the quality and diversity of European architectural expression, as well as its role in defining a common European culture.

Find out more

Tagged in:  Creative Europe Architecture