Skip to main content

Culture and Creativity

We are currently in the process of translating this page into other official EU languages.

European Heritage Awards

european heritage awards

The European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards put a spotlight on remarkable projects, initiatives and personalities in the field of cultural heritage.

The EU awards heritage achievements across Europe in four main categories

  • conservation
  • research
  • dedicated service to heritage conservation
  • education, training, and awareness raising within Europe's cultural heritage sector

The European Heritage Awards/Europa Nostra Awards select every year up to 30 heritage achievements from all around Europe to receive this EU prize.

Among the laureates up to four of the winners are then selected for the Grand Prix that receives a monetary prize of €10,000 each. In addition, the public can vote online for their favourite project or initiative that will then receive the Public Choice Award.

Europa Nostra manages the awards on behalf of the EU. Europa Nostra is the European voice of civil society committed to safeguarding and promoting cultural and natural heritage.

Objective of the prize

These awards promote and reward successful examples in the field of cultural heritage and recognises “heritage heroes” for their dedicated engagement. This EU prize also raises awareness of the issues facing the sector, provides and encourages greater appreciation and protection of European cultural heritage.

A 2013 study [pdf] confirms that the greatest impact of this EU prize is to highlight examples of successes in the sector and raise awareness of best practices across Europe.

Find more information about the awards, the laureates and the annual call for proposals on the European Heritage Awards website.