European Commission

Rue de la Loi / Wetstraat 200

1049 1049 Brussels


Press contact

Media enquiries should be directed to the European Commission press service.


The President is the head of the European Commission. According to the Treaties, he decides on the organisation of the Commission, allocates portfolios to members of the Commission and can make changes at any time. The President also determines the Commission's policy agenda, defending the general European interest. The President was elected by the European Parliament on the basis of his Political Guidelines that were formed drawing on his contacts with the parliamentary committees and the strategic guidelines for the Union presented by the European Council of 27 June 2014:

The President chairs the weekly Commission meetings and sets its policy agenda.

He represents the Commission in:

  • European Council meetings
  • G7 and G20 summits
  • Bilateral summits with third countries
  • Major debates in the European Parliament and the Council (with representatives of national governments)


President Juncker's team supports him in his daily work.
Team page


Appointments and meetings

Tue 30 May


Addresses the Committee of Inquiry into Money Laundering, Tax Avoidance and Tax Evasion (PANA) in the European Parliament

With: Jean-Claude Juncker
Wed 31 May


Meeting of the College of Commissioners

With: Jean-Claude Juncker


Luxembourgish nationality. Married.

President of the European Commission
  • 2014-present
President of the Euro Group
  • 2004-2013
Prime Minister of Luxembourg
  • 1995-2013
Prime Minister, Minister of State, Minister for the Treasury
  • July 2009–2013
Prime Minister, Minister of State and Minister for Finance
  • 1999–2009
Prime Minister, Minister of State, Minister for Finance, Minister for Labour and Employment
  • 1995–1999
Minister for Finance and Minister for Labour
  • 1994–1995
Minister for Finance and Minister for Labour
  • 1989–1994
Minister for Labour, Minister Delegate for the Budget
  • 1984–1989
State Secretary for Labour and Social Security
  • 1982 - 1984
Joined the CSV party
  • 1974