The Commission adopted today the 2014-2020 Atlantic Area Transnational Cooperation Programme, worth €185.3 million with a contribution from the European Regional Development Fund of €140 million. Fostering innovation, promoting a resource-efficient economy, protecting the Atlantic territory against risks of natural and human origin and promoting the natural and cultural assets are the key focuses of the programme.

Corina Creţu, Commissioner for Regional Policy said: “This transnational cooperation programme offers concrete opportunities to encourage innovation in all sectors involving private and public stakeholders, while protecting the region's rich natural resources. It is consistent with the EU sea basin strategy for the Atlantic Ocean and its Action Plan. I am convinced that it will be beneficial to the sustainable development of regions, cities, towns and rural areas in the Atlantic area.”

The programme promotes cooperation between 38 regions from 5 EU Member States: France, Spain, Portugal, Ireland and the United Kingdom, including the outermost regions of the Canary Islands (Spain) and the Autonomous Regions of the Azores and Madeira (Portugal)


The programme's four priorities are:

  • 1: Boosting innovation and competitiveness, accelerating smart growth;
  • 2: Fostering a resource-efficient economy, promoting the use of renewable energies
  • 3: Strengthening the territory's resilience to risks of natural, climate and human origin, Supporting a better protection and management of the territory;
  • 4: Protecting the biodiversity and promoting the cultural and natural assets of the region

Managing Authority:

Comissão de Coordenação e Desenvolvimento Regional do Norte (CCDR-N)
Rua Rainha D. Estefânia, 251
4150-034 Porto, Portugal

More information:

Atlantic Area Transnational Programme

Atlantic Action Plan

Interreg B – Transnational cooperation


@EU_Regional @CorinaCretuEU #ESIF #CohesionPolicy