Navigation path

 

Standard Eurobarometer 91 survey (EB91), was carried out in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The fieldwork took place between the 7th of June and the 25th of June 2019 in the EU28 Member States and between the 7th of June and the 1st of July 2019 in the other countries and territories. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation and expectations for the future). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions as well as their main concerns. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably free movement and the euro.

 

The European Commission releases today a new Eurobarometer survey on the rule of law in the EU together with the Commission ‘Communication on strengthening the rule of law in the European Union’. The survey covers perceptions of Europeans on the importance of the rule of law in their country and in other EU Member States, and on the perceived need for improvement of the respect of the rule of law. Results show overwhelming support of Europeans for the rule of law in their country and in the EU, and most Europeans say the rule of law needs to be improved in their country.

 

For this survey carried out in April 2019, some 7.000 respondents in the seven EU Member States that have yet to join the euro (Bulgaria, Czechia, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden) were interviewed by phone. Citizens from different social and demographic groups replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from their perception of and support for the introduction of the euro in their country, to how well citizens felt informed about the common currency. Questions included how citizens saw the consequences for themselves, their country, and for those countries which already have adopted the euro. Other questions looked at how and where citizens wished to be informed and what type of information they considered most important. While 56% of respondents think that the introduction of the euro has had positive consequences in the countries that are already using the euro, the proportion of respondents who are in favour of introducing the euro in their country varies widely, from 66% in Hungary to 36% in Sweden. Respondents who feel informed about the euro are more likely to support its introduction (57% compared with 43% of those who do not feel informed). Socio-demographic analysis shows that men are more in favour of introducing the euro in their country, compared with women (53% vs 45%).

 

On the occasion of its annual report on how the EU institutions and Member States applied the EU Charter of Fundamental Rights in 2018, the European Commission is today releasing new Eurobarometer data on citizens’ awareness of the EU Charter. It also marks the 10th anniversary of the Charter’s entry into force.

 

The Flash Eurobarometer, “Public opinion in the EU regions”, is the third of a series of surveys conducted at the request of the Directorate-General for Communication with the aim of exploring public opinion at regional level by measuring perceptions of Europeans concerning the economy, the quality of life and the main issues being faced by the region where they currently live, their expectations for the region in the next twelve months and who, among political representatives, they think can best explain the regional impact of European policies. The questionnaire also includes questions aiming at measuring the optimism of Europeans concerning the future of their region, and the level of trust in the national government and in the EU at regional level. The first results of this survey were published in November 2018 and the full report is published today.

 

This survey was designed to explore European citizens’ awareness of and views on biodiversity and nature. Earlier surveys on the same topic were made in 2007, 2010, 2013 and 2015. The current survey (carried out in December 2018) addresses a sub-set of the questions asked in the previous ones and explores more particularly citizens views and opinions on the following topics: - Awareness of the term “biodiversity” - Perceptions of the biggest threats to biodiversity - Reasons for stopping the loss of biodiversity - What the EU should do to prevent the loss of biodiversity - Awareness about the Natura 2000 network, of the importance of nature protection areas and of attitudes to developments that may damage these areas

 

Through this survey more than 10.000 young people across the EU (between 15 and 30 years) expressed their views on what the EU priorities should be as well as where education and training should focus in the years to come. Additionally, the survey provides an overview on young people’s trends regarding their social and civic participation. Finally, it illustrates the situation regarding youth mobility and helps to identify the main reasons that possibly impede young people from taking part in a learning experience abroad.

 

Vaccination is one of the most successful public health measures to date. Not only do vaccines prevent diseases and save lives, they also reduce healthcare costs. The European Commission has conducted a Special Eurobarometer presenting Europeans’ attitudes towards vaccination. While the results are positive in finding that 85% of EU citizens believe vaccination is an effective way to prevent infectious diseases, and 79% consult and trust a healthcare professional to get information about vaccinations, there are also some worrying findings: 48% Europeans believe – incorrectly – that vaccines can often produce severe side effects, and 38% think vaccines can cause the diseases against which they protect. More key figures can be found in the full Eurobarometer report.

 

The Flash Eurobarometer 476 survey on citizens’ perceptions about competition policy was carried out by Kantar Public Brussels in 28 Member States of the European Union between 21-25 January 2019. Some 26,572 respondents from different social and demographic groups were interviewed via telephone (landline and mobile phone) in their mother tongue. The survey focused on citizens’ perceptions and awareness on the impact of competition, lack of competition, and applicable information channels. EU citizens largely share the objectives and values of competition policy, with little variation across socio-demographic factors. 78% respondents say effective competition has had a positive impact on them as consumers (+4 percentage points since 2014). European citizens assimilate competition to higher quality goods and services (74%), better prices (83%), more innovation (85%), and more choice for consumers (87%). Across the EU, citizens think that problems arising from lack of competition are most likely regarding: telecommunications (26%; +8 percentage points since 2014), Internet access (26%), energy (23%; -5 percentage points since 2014), transport services, and pharmaceutical products (both 20%). Among respondents who have experienced problems resulting from a lack of competition, 70% say the main problem is that prices are too high (across all sectors). 40% of respondents had heard about competition cases in the last twelve months (+1percentage point since 2014). Newspapers/magazines and television are the most mentioned sources (both 58%), followed by radio and websites (both 33%), and online social networks (24%; +10 percentage points since 2014).

 

The Special Eurobarometer Survey 480 (EBS480) was carried out between 24th October and 7th November 2018 to collect the Europeans’ attitudes towards Internet security. 27,339 face-to-face interviews in all Member States were conducted with Europeans older than 15 years. Respondents provided information on how often and by which means they access the Internet, and what they do when they are online. They were asked on their concerns about their actions on the Internet, and which measures they undertake to lower the risk of falling victim to cyber crime. Europeans could express their feelings of how well informed they were about these risks, which actions they considered to be criminal, and whether they or people close to them had already been victims. Finally, the survey gathered information on which actions Europeans undertook if they became victims and which ways to report cyber crime they know of.

 

This new Eurobarometer survey sheds light on the priority areas for EU citizens when it comes to the activities of customs authorities in the EU. According to the survey, customs should primarily focus on security threat protection and fighting against smuggling and fraud, while EU citizens also expect customs to enforce rules on animals, plants and public health or on product safety. The new results show that citizens know more about specific aspects of the Customs Union than three years ago, although some misconceptions remain.

 

A Eurobarometer survey was carried out face-to-face from 4 to 20 December 2018 in the 28 EU Member States on the Perceptions of antisemitism. In this survey, 27,643 respondents were asked about their perception of antisemitism as a problem, its evolution over the last five years and the specific manifestations of antisemitism. Additional questions were asked about the influence of conflicts in the Middle East on antisemitism in Europe, the effectiveness of Holocaust education and the knowledge about Jewish communities.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 90 survey (EB90), was carried out between 8 and 22 November 2018 in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (the Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot Community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation and expectations for the future). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments, the EU and its institutions as well as their main concerns. It also examines people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to the priorities of the European Commission, notably free movement and the euro.

 

The first EB survey on EU consumer habits regarding fishery and aquaculture products was conducted in 2016. As EU Member States, operators and the European Commission services made an extensive use of its findings, it was decided to repeat the opinion poll every second year. This year’s survey, the Special Eurobarometer 475, confirms that EU consumers eat fishery and aquaculture products regularly, preferably at home, although with lower frequency in landlocked countries. Purchase is regular and mainly takes place in supermarkets. Preferences have also remained stable: many Europeans prefer wild products. Yet, it is interesting to note that a large proportion of Europeans do not have specific preferences. To learn more about this survey you can access the full report available on this website.

 

The "Future of Europe" survey was carried out between 24 October and 7 November 2018 in the 28 EU Member States. It is part of a series of reports initiated in 2006. The "Future of Europe" report considers the EU in today's world: EU’s main assets and challenges, the EU's values and the EU in the world economy. Then it tackles some aspects of political and social life in the EU and issues related to the future of Europe. The present survey also includes questions on climate change as well as questions on the future of Europe directly inspired by European citizens, who were gathered in a citizens’ consultation in May 2018. A first series of results from this survey on climate change was published on 28 November 2018.

 

The Special Eurobarometer survey was commissioned by the Directorate-General for Migration and Home Affairs to assess the awareness, attitudes and opinions of Europeans regarding the Schengen Area. The free movement of persons is a fundamental right guaranteed by the EU to its citizens. It entitles every EU citizen to travel, work and live in any EU country without special formalities. The