Climate Action

100 European cities sign up to action on climate change

Group photo of the mayors at the official signing ceremony

Today marks a major milestone for the European Commission's Mayors Adapt initiative, with 100 European cities now committed to take action to tackle climate change. EU Commissioner for Climate Action Connie Hedegaard welcomed mayors from across Europe at an official signing ceremony pledging their commitment to the initiative. The A-Z of signatory cities runs from Agueda in Portugal to Zwijndrecht in Belgium and also includes Barcelona, Copenhagen, Frankfurt, Glasgow, Lisbon, Munich, Naples and Rotterdam.

EU Climate Action Commissioner Connie Hedegaard said: "When we launched Mayors Adapt in March, we aimed to build a network of at least 50 cities by the end of the year. We already have 100 and more are queuing up to join. Our cities are building up their resilience against climate change and this is great news for citizens and businesses. Good preparation will be much cheaper than cleaning up afterwards - and it can save lives."

During the day-long event, participants had an opportunity to discuss how cities can better prepare for the adverse impacts of climate change and exchange experience and good practice.


Mayors Adapt was launched in March 2014, in the framework of the successful Covenant of Mayors initiative. While this concentrates on efforts to cut greenhouse gas emissions, Mayors Adapt focuses on adaptation measures. As major centres of population and infrastructure, cities are particularly vulnerable to extreme weather events and the adverse effects of climate change. Local authorities therefore play a key role in implementing the measures to mitigate and adapt to a changing climate.