Climate Action

Seven Member States to speed up the adoption of measures to implement EU legislation on aviation emi...


The European Commission is asking Cyprus, Estonia, France, Greece, Hungary, Poland and Slovakia to speed up the adoption of legislative and administrative measures necessary for inclusion of the aviation sector in the EU Emissions Trading System. To date these seven Member States have not transposed the EU ETS aviation legislation into national law.

On the recommendation of Climate Action Commissioner Connie Hedegaard, the Commission is sending a reasoned opinion to the Member States concerned. Failing compliance, the Commission may refer the cases to the European Court of Justice.