Navigation path

 

For this survey carried out in late May to early June 2020, some 7 000 respondents in the seven EU Member States that have yet to join the euro (Bulgaria, Czechia, Croatia, Hungary, Poland, Romania, Sweden) were interviewed by phone. Citizens from different social and demographic groups replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from their perception of and support for the introduction of the euro in their country, to how well citizens felt informed about the common currency. Questions included how citizens saw the consequences for themselves, their country, and for those countries which already have adopted the euro. Other questions looked at how and where citizens wished to be informed and what type of information they considered most important. While 56% of respondents think that the introduction of the euro has had positive consequences in the countries that are already using the euro, the proportion of respondents who are in favour of introducing the euro in their country varies widely, from 66% in Hungary to 35% in Sweden. Respondents who feel informed about the euro are more likely to support its introduction (57% compared with 44% of those who do not feel informed). Overall 51% feel informed about the euro, while 47% do not. The most notable change since the 2019 survey has been an increase in Poland of citizens feeling informed (+7 pp) to 53% now. There have also been substantial increases of five percentage points since 2019 both in Bulgaria (to 45%) and Croatia (to 52%), while 54% in Bulgaria and 47% in Croatia (both -5pp) do not feel informed.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among companies across the EU Member States, particularly how companies rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges, and the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. A total of 6,807companies were interviewed via telephone (among businesses employing one or more persons) between 7 and 20 January 2020, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

The survey was designed to explore the perceptions of judicial independence among the general public across the EU Member States, particularly how the general public rate the justice system in their country in terms of the independence of courts and judges, and the reasons why they rate the independence of the justice system the way they do. Some 26,578 respondents from different social and demographic groups were interviewed via telephone, between 7 and 11 January 2020, in the 28 Member States of the European Union.

 

The European Commission publishes a survey on a range of issues associated with EU citizenship and democracy, for which fieldwork was done in 27 EU Member States in February/March 2020. The survey explores Europeans’ familiarity with their status as EU citizens and their understanding of the rights conferred by EU citizenship; attitudes towards free movement in the EU and consular support while staying in a non-EU country; their knowledge and opinions on electoral rights; and their views on ways of increasing voter participation in European Parliament elections. A vast majority of Europeans (91%) are familiar with the term “citizen of the European Union”. 84% of respondents think that the free movement of EU citizens within the EU brings overall benefits to the economy of their country, which represents an increase by 13 percentage points since 2015.

 

Questions on artificial intelligence were included in the Standard Eurobarometer 92 survey. The survey was conducted from 14 to 29 November 2019 in the then 28 EU Member States.

 

The European Commission conducted a survey on “The Impact of Digitalisation on our Daily Lives”. Close to seven in ten respondents, consider themselves sufficiently skilled in the use of digital devices in their daily lives. When it comes to the use of digital devices the survey shows that almost eight in ten respondents would like to oblige manufacturers to make digital devices easier to repair. However, this proportion decreases to four in ten, if that implies an increase in prices. Regarding the sharing and controlling of personal data, four in ten are willing to share their personal data securely to improve medical research and care, while about three in ten are willing to do so in exceptional situations (e.g. natural disasters, terrorist attacks). Just over six in ten respondents say that they would find having a single digital ID for all online services useful.

 

The European Commission publishes a survey showing that a large majority of EU citizens in all EU Member States regard protecting the environment as important to them personally, while more than half of Europeans think it is very important. Over three-quarters of respondents agree that environmental issues have a direct effect on their daily life and health, and more than eight in ten are worried about the impact of chemicals present in everyday products. Europeans think that the most effective ways of tackling environmental problems are to ‘change the way we consume’ and to ‘change the way we produce and trade’. The survey findings indicate that Europeans want more to be done to protect the environment, and that responsibility should be shared by big companies and industry, national governments and the EU, as well as citizens themselves.

 

Undeclared work is defined as paid activities that are lawful but not declared to public authorities. Undeclared work puts workers at multiple risks, undermines public finances and social cohesion. The 2019 Special Eurobarometer is a re-edition of a similar survey conducted in 2013 and it confirms that undeclared work is a persisting challenge in the EU. In the last year, one European out of ten has paid for undeclared goods or services and a third of Europeans know somebody who works undeclared. Since the previous survey, the proportion of respondents who see the risk of being caught as high has slightly increased, to 39%. The 2019 survey also adds an emphasis on new forms of undeclared work and cross-border undeclared work.

 

On 29 of January, the Commission released its latest Eurobarometer on Europeans’ attitudes towards cybercrime. According to the survey, cybercrime awareness is rising. 52% of respondents are stating they are fairly well or very well informed about cybercrime, compared to 46% in 2017. However, less Europeans feel they can protect themselves sufficiently: 59%, down from 71% in 2017.

 

The European Commission is publishing today the results of Special Eurobarometer 2019 survey on EU citizens' views on passenger rights. EU legislation to protect passenger rights has been introduced for all transport modes, which is unique in the world, no other continent offers passengers of all modes such protection. The survey concludes that today less than half of EU citizens who have travelled by air, long-distance rail, coach, ship or ferry in the previous year know that the EU has put in place rights for passengers. The survey includes topics such as disruptions faced while travelling and the assistance received, including for passengers with reduced mobility. A media package, including country factsheets and infographics, is available.

 

Standard Eurobarometer 92 survey (EB92) was carried out in 34 countries or territories: the 28 European Union (EU) Member States, five candidate countries (North Macedonia, Turkey, Montenegro, Serbia and Albania) and the Turkish Cypriot community in the part of the country that is not controlled by the government of the Republic of Cyprus. The fieldwork took place between the 14th November and the 29th November 2019 in the EU28 Member States and between the 14th November and 13th December 2019 in the other countries and territories. The survey includes topics such as the European political situation and the economy (perception of the current situation). It analyses how Europeans perceive their political institutions, both national governments and parliaments and the EU. It also examines Europeans’ main concerns, both at EU and at national level, people's attitudes on European citizenship and on issues linked to key policy areas.

 

Corruption is a serious challenge for all societies and it takes many forms, such as bribery, trading in influence, abuse of functions, but can also hide behind nepotism, conflicts of interest, or revolving doors between the public and the private sectors. The aim of this survey is to understand EU businesses' attitudes towards corruption in the EU and compare them with the previous polls carried out in 2013, 2015 and 2017.

 

For this survey carried out on 14- 19 October 2019, some 17 500 respondents across the 19 euro area countries were interviewed by phone. Compared with last year, the results confirm the strong support for the euro. A euro area majority of 65% thinks that having the euro is a good thing for their country. This is for the third consecutive year the highest proportion since the start of the survey in 2002. It is the view of the majority of respondents in all 19 euro area countries. There are nevertheless some important differences between the 19 countries. The highest increase in support compared with the 2018 results was noted in Cyprus with a raise of 8 percentage points to 55%, followed by Lithuania with a raise of 7 points to 49% and Greece with 6 percentage points to 66%. Highest support for the euro remains to be in Ireland at 88%. An equally stable euro area majority of 76% sees the euro as good for the EU as a whole, a raise of 2 percentage points compared to 2018. Asked about economic policy coordination in the euro area, an overall majority of 69% thinks there should be more coordination while 7% think there should be less of it. A stable overall majority of 65% supports abolishing 1-cent and 2-cent coins combined with mandatory rounding of the final sum of purchases. However, majorities in Greece (48%) and Latvia (48%) are the lowest for this proposal, while in 16 euro area Member States an absolute majority supports this idea. Citizens replied to a set of questions focusing on issues ranging from perception and practical aspects of the euro to their assessment of the economic situation, policy and reforms in their country and in the euro area. In addition, citizens were asked about their views and expectations regarding household income and inflation.

 

The European Commission publishes a new Eurobarometer survey showing strong public support for measures to improve air quality but also the need for more information about air quality in the EU. According to the survey, a majority of respondents in all EU Member States think that the EU should propose additional measures to improve air quality. Of the more than 27,000 citizens interviewed, the largest proportion of respondents consider that the most effective way to tackle air quality problems is to apply stricter pollution controls on industrial and energy-production activities. The survey also reveals the need for better communication, especially at national level, about air quality. A majority of respondents do not feel well-informed about air quality problems in their country and respondents are more likely to think that air quality has deteriorated over the past ten years. In fact, air quality has improved during that time. The survey will be valuable in shaping policies aimed at improving air quality.

 

A special Eurobarometer report published today by the European Commission found that 60% of Europeans feel that they personally benefit from international trade, primarily because of a wider choice of products and lower prices. This is a significant increase of 16 percentage points compared to the previous poll in 2010. The report also revealed that 71% of respondents believe that the EU is more effective in defending their country’s trade interests than their country acting on its own.

 

The debate on equal treatment is high on the agenda of the Employment, Social Policy, Health and Consumer Affairs Council (EPSCO) of 24 October 2019. In support of the debates, the European Commission is releasing today its new Eurobarometer on discrimination. The survey focusses on person’s perceptions, attitudes and opinions of discrimination based on ethnic origin, skin colour, sexual orientation, gender, age, disability, religion, and beliefs. It shows that, compared to 2015, fewer EU citizens now perceive discrimination as being widespread in their country. However, perceptions, opinions and attitudes still vary widely depending on the group discriminated against and also from country to country.

 

The European Commission is publishing today the results of Special Eurobarometer 2019 survey on EU citizens' views on development, cooperation and aid. The survey is based on fieldwork in the 28 EU Member States performed in June 2019. More than two thirds in each country think helping people in developing countries is important. The survey includes topics such as tackling poverty in developing countries as one of the main priorities of the EU, the impact on EU citizens and the role of private companies in the sustainable development of developing countries. The survey offers a view on how citizens perceive development and cooperation in every EU country as well as across the EU as a whole. Commissioner Mimica will announce the results today. A media package, including country fact sheets and infographics in 23 EU languages, is available.

 

The survey published today is part of a series of surveys that examine Europeans’ awareness and attitudes towards EU Regional Policy - the Flash Eurobarometer surveys 452, 423, 384 and 298. It begins by asking whether respondents have heard about any EU co-financed projects in the area where they live, and, if so, whether they believe those projects have had a positive or negative impact on their lives. Respondents are then asked about their familiarity with the EU’s two regional funds and whether they have benefited personally from an EU-funded project. The survey also provides information on the sources of information used by respondents to find out about the policy. The survey then examines respondents' views on the priorities of the EU's regional policy, asking them which geographical regions and which investment sectors the EU should target and who should take decisions about regional investments. It concludes by looking at public awareness of the EU outermost regions and about EU support to cross-border cooperation, including of Intereg and of four EU macro-regional strategies – in the Baltic Sea, along the Danube, in the Adriatic and Ionian Sea and in the Alpine region.

 

DGs CLIMA and ENER have published new Eurobarometer surveys showing strong public support for EU climate and energy policies. The surveys asked citizens from all EU Member States a variety of questions on current climate and energy policies and their wishes for future European action. Results were extremely encouraging with positive trends for citizens’ awareness of climate change, their desire for the EU and Member States to act, and willingness to take personal action to fight climate change. They also support prioritising an EU energy sector which is cleaner, more secure and more affordable. These surveys will be invaluable in shaping our climate and energy policies over the next five years. The survey results on EU climate policies is available in the reports on the Special Eurobarometer webpage.