Important legal notice
Home | Sitemap | F.A.Q. | Glossary | Contact | Search on EUROPA  

Summary of Treaty

Official Title Common Aviation Area Agreement between the European Union and its Member States and Georgia
Type of Agreement Bilateral
Place of Signature Brussels
Date of Signature 02/12/2010
Date of Entry Into Force Pending
Objective of Agreement The Agreement aims at: - gradual market opening in terms of access to routes and capacity on a reciprocal basis; - non-discrimination and level playing field for economic operators based on the principles of the EU Treaties; - alignment of the Georgian aviation legislation with EU legislation on issues such as safety, security and air traffic management. The Agreement provides for the possibility for Georgia to join the main multilateral aviation agreement with European countries, the European Common Aviation Area (ECAA) signed in 2006.
Remarks The provisions of the Agreement supersede the existing bilateral air services agreements between Member States and Georgia. The negotiating mandate set the objective of establishing a Common Aviation Area (CAA) between the EU and Georgia. This would extend the rules and provisions of the single market for air transport in the EU to a large extent to Georgia in which European and Georgian airlines would be able to provide air services without any restriction. Based on the negotiating directives of the mandate, a draft Agreement with Georgia was initialled by the two sides on 5 March 2010.
Relation and Association with Other Agreements -Multilateral Agreement between the European Community and its Member States, the Republic of Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, the Republic of Bulgaria, the Republic of Croatia, the former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, the Republic of Iceland, the Republic of Montenegro, the Kingdom of Norway, Romania, the Republic of Serbia and the United Nations Interim Administration Mission in Kosovo on the establishment of a European Common Aviation Area
OJ Reference L321, 20/11/2012, p. 3
Contracting Parties European Union, Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Georgia, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom
Subject Matters Caucasus countries
Amendment and review Article 26 Agreement
Duration (Conditions) Article 27 Agreement
Entry into force conditions Article 29 (1) Agreement
Provisional application Article 29 (2) Agreement
Safeguard Article 24 Agreement
Settlement of disputes Article 23 Agreement
Management Joint Committee (Article 22)
Conclusion Decision Decision of the Council and of the Representatives of the Governments of the Member States, meeting within the Council of 15 October 2010 on the signature and provisional application of the Common Aviation Area Agreement between the European Union and its Member States, of the one part, and Georgia, of the other part; 20/11/2012, p.1
Competence Mixed
Legal Basis Treaty FEU: Article 100

Last Update :   20/11/2012